Sunday, May 19

Nepal clinches Bilateral Series title

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal has emerged victorious in the bilateral series hosted by Malaysia, defeating the hosts by 3 wickets in the final match of the series. Out of the 5 T20I matches played, Nepal won 3, securing them the title of the Bilateral series.

KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA – JUNE 04: during match five of the 2023 MCA Bilateral Series between Nepal Women vs Malaysia Women at YSD-UKM Oval on June 04, 2023 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (Photo by Peter Lim/ for Malaysia Cricket Association)

After losing to Malaysia in the inaugural match, Nepal made a strong comeback, winning two consecutive matches. However, they faced a defeat against Malaysia in the fourth match, leaving the final match to decide the ultimate winner.

In the fifth T20I match of the bilateral series, Nepal managed to defeat Malaysia by 3 wickets, with Sita Rana Magar delivering an outstanding performance.

Opting to bowl first, Nepal restricted Malaysia to 109 runs before successfully chasing the target of 110 runs in 19.2 overs.

Having been invited to bat first, Malaysia completed their 20 overs, accumulating 109 runs. Opener Wan Julia Wan Mohd Rosdi played a crucial inning of 47 runs off 60 deliveries for the hosts. Another opener, Winifred Anne Duraisingam, contributed 24 runs off 25 deliveries before being dismissed by Kabita Joshi.

Unfortunately for Malaysia, Mas Elysa Yasmin Zulkifli was out for a golden duck, while Mahirah Izzati Ismail added 20 runs and Alinna Hamizah Hashim contributed 6 runs to the total. Arianna Natasya Benn Rakqiden remained not out on 0.

Nepal’s Kabita Joshi picked up 2 wickets, while Ishowri Bist claimed one.

In the chase, Nepal successfully reached the target of 110 runs with 4 balls to spare. Kabita Kunwar and Sita Rana Magar opened the innings for Nepal. However, opener Kabita had a disappointing day, getting dismissed for just 4 runs off 3 deliveries. On the other hand, Sita emerged as the star performer, contributing the highest score of 34 runs off 37 deliveries, including 6 fours for the champions.

Samjhana Khadka departed for a diamond duck, while Indu Barma added a mere 5 runs to the total. Skipper Rubina Chhetry Belbashi scored the second-highest total of 23 runs, with Jyoti Pandey, and Apsari Begam reaching double figures contributing 11 runs and 15 runs respectively.

Bindu Rawal and Kabita Joshi both scored 5 runs each, facing an equal number of four deliveries.

Ainna Hamizah Hashim from Malaysia picked up 2 wickets, while Mahirah Izzati Ismail, Winifred Anne, Aisya Eleesa Firdauz, and Nur Dania Syuhada Abad Samad claimed a wicket each.

Nepal’s Head Coach Samson Jung Thapa successfully won this maiden title from the National Team. Additionally, pacer Ishwori Bist, batter Samjhana Khadka, and spinner Kritika Marasini debuted in national colors through this series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *