Saturday, May 18

Koshi sets final face-off against regaining champions

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Koshi Province set the final face-off against the regaining champions Nepal APF Club crushing Madhesh Province by 62 runs in an ongoing Lalitpur Mayor’s Women’s Cricket Championship at TU Cricket Ground on Tuesday.

Invited to bat first, Koshi scored 105 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in the prescribed 20 overs. Kajal Shrestha and Rubina Chhetry, who opened the innings, shared a partnership of 40 runs for the fall of the first wicket.

The top-order batters all made valuable contributions to the total fulfilling their responsibility, with skipper Rubina scoring the highest of 39 runs off 38 deliveries with 6 fours. Likewise, Kajal Shrestha contributed 22 runs, while Apsari Begam and Smirit Katuwal added 19 and 10 runs to the total.

Furthermore, Nisha Shah and Sabnam Rai contributed 3 runs each, and Sanu Rajbanshi remained not out for 2 off 2.

Madhesh Province’s Santoshi Chaudhary, Amiran Nisha, and Amisha Patel each claimed a couple of wickets.

Later, chasing a target of 106 runs, Madhesh Province could only muster 43 runs for the loss of 9 wickets despite playing the full innings.

Alisha Yadav and Anuradha Chaudhary, who opened the innings, departed for a duck each. Madhesh’s highest contributor was Saraswati Kumari, who accumulated 10 runs off 17 balls. Sana Praveen departed collecting 8 runs off 27 deliveries, while Seema Kunwar and Roji Kadari left the crease for 1 and 2 runs.

Koshi Province’s bowlers Rubina Chhetry, Alisha Khadiya, and Nisha Shah picked up 2 wickets each, while Sabnam Rai took 1 wicket.

Koshi set a final face-off against APF, who had previously won the championship twice. This placement was confirmed by the standings. The first and second teams after the completion of the round-robin matches were scheduled to compete in the final. The championship’s final match will take place on Thursday at TU Cricket Ground.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *