Saturday, April 20

Kantipur Half Marathon to be held on May 20

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – The 11th edition of the Kantipur Half Marathon will take place on May 20th as announced by the organizers, Kantipur Publications during a press conference on Wednesday.

The competition will include the newly introduced College run category, where students over 18 years old will compete in a 7 km race, while the Half marathon (21.1 km), Corporate (5 km), and Wheelchair (3 km) categories will remain the same.

The CEO of Publications, Mahesh Swar, confirmed that the winners of the men’s and women’s Half marathon categories will receive a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh each, with the second to sixth-place finishers also receiving cash prizes.

In the Wheelchair category, the first to third-place winners with varying physical abilities will receive cash prizes of 30,000, 20,000, and 10,000 respectively. Meanwhile, the first, second, and third-place finishers in the College run will receive food gift vouchers from KFC.

On the Corporate side, the winners will be awarded various gift hampers from KFC and Hams Hospital. The organizers anticipate more than 3,000 participants in all categories and have set a registration deadline of May 15th, with no cost for registration.

The race will commence at the Central Business Park in Thapathali, headquarters of Kantipur, and will go through various locations such as Maitighar Mandla, Baneshwar, Tinkune, Koteshwar, Jadibuti, Lokanthali Gathaghar, Thimi, and Sallaghari Chowk before concluding at the Central Business Park.

In the previous edition, Gopichandara Parki of Nepal APF Club and Rajpura Pachhai of Nepal Police Club was adjudged victorious, while Kanchimaya Koju won the title for the fifth time in the women’s category. On the men’s side, Harikumar Rimal has won the title four times.

Former winners:

2067Arjun Kumar BasnetKanchimaya Koju
2068Hari Kumar RimalBrinda Shrestha
2069Kalyan BaniyaKanchimaya Koju
2070Anish Thapa MagarKanchimaya Koju
2071Hari Kumar RimalBishwarupa Budha
2072Gopichandra ParkiReshu Basnet
2073Hari Kumar RimalKanchimaya Koju
2074Hari Kumar RimalKanchimaya Koju
2076Anish Thapa MagarBishwarupa Budha
2079Gopichandra ParkiRajpura Pachhai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *