Wednesday, April 17

European Super League formed

Twelve clubs from top European Leagues have decided to enter a proposed European Super League, including Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur called the European Super League (ESL).

These 12 clubs will be the founding clubs and have decided they will have modern midweek rivalry with teams continuing to “compete in their respective national leagues. Other teams of founding members include Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, AC Milan, Inter and Juventus.

The league will have 20 teams, including the 12 founding members and three undisclosed clubs that are expected to revealed soon. And five teams will qualify annually based on their domestic achievements. ESL season will begin in August every year in midweek. The teams will be divided into two groups of ten in each playing home and away. Two-leg knockout format will be followed before the finals and culminating in a single-leg final in May at a neutral venue.

However, The European Super League hasn’t been able to convince two big German clubs and the French champions. The breakaway group’s leaders couldn’t persuade some big names including Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund and Paris St-Germain. There are too many things associated with the disapproval from these clubs though.

Nasser al-Khelaifi, the president of P.S.G., is a member of the UEFA board of directors and also leads beIN Media Group, a Qatar-based television network that has invested millions of dollars for the rights to air games in the Champions League and other domestic competitions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *