Sunday, April 14

Bhuwan wins Surya Nepal Challenge

April 22: Bhuwan Nagarkoti clinched the title of the Surya Nepal Challenge, the sixth event under Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2021-22, at the par-68 Royal Nepal Golf Club on Friday. 

Nepal No 1 pro Bhuwan carded two-under 66 in the final round to post the winning total of 13-under 259. He registered a four-stroke victory over Jayram Shrestha to claim the second title of the season and 10th overall. Along with the trophy, Bhuwan received a cheque of Rs 100,000. 

Jayram finished second at nine-under 263 after he carded six-under 62 in the final round and earned Rs 65,000. Sanjay Lama came third at six-under 266 after he played a round of even-par 68. Dinesh Prajapati and Rame Magar shared the fourth position at five-under 267. Dinesh played two-over 70 and Rame carded five-under 63. They received Rs 36,000 each. 

Dhana Bahadur Thapa (68) finished sixth at 268 to earn Rs 30,000. Three pros, Bhuwan Kumar Rokka (76), Deepak Magar (73) and Niraj Tamang (71) shared seventh place at two-under 270 and they received Rs 24,333 each. Rabi Khadka carded one-under 67 to finish 10th at even-par 272 and he earned Rs 20,000. 

Winner Bhuwan carded four-under 30 on the front nine before playing two-over 36 on the back nine. Bhuwan, who was one stroke ahead of Sanjay Lama going into the final round, extended the lead with four straight birdies on the first, second, third and fourth holes and added another on the eighth hole. He faced a lone bogey on the seventh before taking the turn. On the back nine, Bhuwan dropped shots on the 14th and 15th holes and saved pars on seven other holes. 

Jayram moved to second with a brilliant six-under 62. He carded four-under 30 on the front nine and shot two-under 32 on the back nine. He carded birdies on the first, second, fourth, sixth and seventh holes and faced a bogey on the fifth hole. After taking the turn, Jayram he carded birdies on the 10th and 13th holes. 

Subash Tamang won the amateur section title with the total score of five-under 267. Subash played one-over 69 on the final day and he was fourth overall. Suresh Tamang (73) finished second at 291, while Gajendra Gurung (72) was third at 292. 

A total of 60 golfers — 38 pros and 22 amateurs — took part in the 72-hole competition organised by Professional Golfers Association Nepal under the sponsorship of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. The tournament carried a cash purse of Rs 545,000. Top 21 pros received their share of cash prizes. Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd Brand Manager Rajat Thapa, RNGC President Prachanda Bahadur Shrestha and PGA Nepal Advisor Ghana Shyam Thapa handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *