Tuesday, February 20

Arahant and Krishna Victorious

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Arhant Keshar Singh and Krishna Thapa bagged the title of 4th Dhana Laxmi Memorial National Squash Tournament.

Arahant was crowned champion of the men’s open whereas Krishna won in the women’s open. Both Arahant and Krishna were victorious in the Olympics Day National Squash tournament held last month.

Arahant defeated Amrit Thapa Magar in the straight set of 11-4, 11-7, and 11-6 to bag the title. Amir Blon and Deepak Thapa came third jointly. Arahant has become the champion consecutively for the fourth time in the tournament.

In the women’s open, Krishna won the title defeating Bipana Blon in straight sets of 11-7, 11-7, and 11-7. This is Krishna’s fourth title.

Likewise, in Junior Open Boys Bikash Magar won the title defeating Gopal Thapa by 8-11, 11-2, 11-9, and 11-8. Pasang Lama and Salim Thapa Magar jointly came third.

Similarly, Sudiv Singh won the Master’s over 50 title defeating Prajwal Prakash Pradhan by 11-5, 11-13, 11-7, and 11-6. Dilip Adhikari and Dhir Pun came third. Prayag Joshi became the plate champion defeating Raj Maharjan in the straight set of 11-7, 12-10, and 14-12. Kamal Shakya and Junil Shakya came third.

The winner of men’s singles Arahant was rewarded with Rs. 25, 000 and a trophy. Amrit, who came second pursed Rs 15,000, and Amir and Deep, who managed to come third got Rs 10,000 each. Furthermore, the winner of the women’s singles Krishna was rewarded with Rs 20,000 and a trophy whereas runner-up Bipana received Rs. 10,000. Bhawana and Swasthani, who came third pursed Rs 5,000 each.

Junior Open winner Bikas was rewarded with Rs. 10,000. Juniors were rewarded with Rs. 500 add-ons for every game they won to encourage them. Similarly, the association will arrange special training for the best junior players of the tournament. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *