Friday, May 24

APF continues to dominate, Koshi off to a winning start

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal APF Club maintained their dominance in the Lalitpur Mayor Women’s Championship, while Koshi Province began the championship with a victory at TU Cricket Ground on Friday.

APF VS Sudurpaschim

In the first match of the day, recorded a 15 runs victory over Sudurpaschim Province. Having been invited to bat, APF scored 121/2 in the prescribed 20 overs.

APF’s captain, Sita Rana Magar, played a half-century innings, scoring an unbeaten 52 off 59 deliveries, including 7 fours.

Jyoti Pandey scored 13 runs before leaving the crease, while Indu Barma missed out on a half-century by just 5 runs. Additionally, Mamta Chaudhary contributed 3 runs to the team’s total.

Sudurpachim’s pacer, Kabita Kunwar, took the only wicket for her team.

Later, APF restricted Sudurpaschim to 106/6 in the allocated 20 overs. Opener Kabita Kunwar’s half-century was in vain as her team failed to chase the total.

With skipper Bindu Rawal departing for 1, Kabita Kunwar contributed 51 runs off 60 deliveries with 3 fours and 2 sixes. She was stumped by APF’s wicketkeeper, Jyoti Pandey, in the 17.1 over.

Rubi Poddar and Samjhana Khadka left the crease for 4 and 17 runs, respectively, while Rewati Dhami and Sneha Mahara were dismissed for 1 and 2 runs. Kabita Joshi scored 26 runs remaining not out, while Ritu Kanoujiya scored 0 runs and also remained not out.

APF’s pacer, Suman Bist, picked up 2 wickets, while Sita Rana Magar and Indu Barma claimed a wicket each.

Koshi VS Lalitpur Mayor’s XI

In the second match of the day, Koshi Province beat hosts Lalitpur Mayor’s XI by 7 wickets. Lalitpur, who won the toss and opted to bat first were bowled out for 65 runs in 16.5 overs.

Opener Laxmi Chaudhary top-scored with 23 runs off 32 deliveries, including 3 fours, for the hosts, while the other opener, Kanchan Shrestha, departed for 1. Sony Pakhrin scored 6 runs, Helisha Gurung 7, and Shristi Jaishi added 1 run to the total. Ashmina Karmacharya was dismissed for a golden duck, and Khusi Dangol left the crease following a diamond duck out.

Other contributors to the total were Rajnu Shrestha (1), Sujata Thapa (4), Kritika Marasini (3), and Manisha Upadhayay (10).

Nisha Shah was the pick of Koshi’s bowlers picking 3-11 in 4 overs. Moreover, Apsari Begam took 2 wickets whereas Sabnam Rai and Alisha Khadiya grabbed one each.

In response, Koshi Province chased down the target of 66 runs in 12 overs, losing only 3 wickets. Opener Kajol Shrestha departed for a royal duck out, while skipper Rubina Chhetry added 13 runs to the tally.

Apsari Begam scored an unbeaten 29 runs off 32 deliveries, including 4 fours. Smiriti Katuwal departed for 9, and Lakita Rajbanshi remained not out on 1.

Lalitpur’s pacer, Ashmina Karmacharya, took 2 wickets, while Kritika Marasaini claimed a wicket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *