Friday, April 19

Sudurpaschim and APF start triumphantly

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Sudurpaschim Province and Nepal APF Club started triumphantly in the Lalitpur Mayors Women’s Championship at TU Cricket Ground on Thursday.

Sudurpaschim Province VS Lalitpur Mayors’ XI

Sudurpaschim Province defeated the hosts Lalitpur Mayors’ XI by a margin of 51 runs in an inaugural match. Opening with the bat, Sudurpaschim Province posted 137 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in the allocated 20 overs.

While openers Bindu Rawal and Rubi Poddar departed for 18 and 28 runs, respectively, number three batter Samjhana Khadka played a vital half-century innings, contributing 51 runs off 45 deliveries with 6 fours.

After Rewati Dhami departed for a golden duck, Kabita Joshi played a not-out inning, adding 27 runs off 28 deliveries with 2 fours and a six. Kabita and Samjhana’s unbroken fourth-wicket partnership of 67 runs helped Sudurpaschim Province achieve a comfortable total.

Lalitpur’s bowlers Kritika Marasini and Sony Pakhrin claimed 2 and 1 wicket, respectively.

In response, the hosts failed to chase the target, scoring 86 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the prescribed 20 overs. Opener Laxmi Chaudhary was the top scorer for Lalitpur, contributing 25 runs off 38 balls, while Kanchan Shrestha (16) and Helisha Gurung (19) were other batters who scored in double figures.

Sony Pakhrin 3, Seemana KC 2, and Asmina Karmacharya added 8 runs to the total. While Laxmi, Sony, Helisha, Seemana, and Asmina lost their wickets through run-outs, Sudurpaschim’s spinner Ritu Kanoujiya claimed rest two wickets conceding 12 runs in 4 overs. Moreover, Shristi Jaisi and Khusi Dangol remained unbeaten for 0 and 1 runs, respectively.

Nepal APF Club VS Madhesh Province

In the day’s second match, APF Club record a comfortable 10-wicket victory over Madhesh Province.

Invited to bat first, Madhesh Province lost all its wickets in 19.4 overs for a meagre 58 runs. Sana Praveen was the top scorer for the losing side, contributing 25 runs off 45 deliveries before being bowled out by Indu Barma in the 16.4 over. Apart from her, no batter reached double digits.

Other contributors were Alisha Yadav (1), Seema Kunwar (8), Saraswati Kumari (5), Roji Kadari (1), Sanotshi Chaudhary (2), Kabita Gautam (1), Bhumi Singh (1) Pratima Sah (0), Anuradha Chaudhary (0), and Amiran Nisha (0).

Sonu Khadka was the standout bowler for APF, claiming 4-9 in just 2.4 overs. In addition, Sita Rana Magar took three wickets, while Rekha Rawal, Nary Thapa, and Indu Barma took one each.

In return, APF easily chased down the target, reaching 61 runs without losing any wickets in just 7.3 overs.

Skipper Sita Rana Magar led the way with an unbeaten 45 runs off 36 deliveries, including nine fours. Jyoti Pandey also contributed 8 runs off 10 deliveries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *