Thursday, June 20

APF confirms spot in the finale

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal APF Club confirmed their place in the final of the Lalitpur Mayors’ Women’s Championship for the third time in a row beating Koshi Province by 7 wickets on Saturday at TU Cricket Ground.

Koshi Province Inning

Koshi Province, who won the toss and opted to bat first collected 87 runs in the allocated 20 overs losing 5 wickets. Kajal Shrestha (29) and Rubina Chhetry (24), who opened the innings were the two highest scorers for the losing side.

While Sabnam Rai departed for a duck out, Apsari Begam left the crease contributing 22 runs off 36 deliveries. Moreover, Smriti Katuwal added 8 runs to the tally and Namita Shrestha remained unbeaten for 0.

Player of the Match Sita Rana Magar was the pick of APF bowler picking 3-11 in 4 overs. Moreover, Indu Barma claimed a wicket for APF.

Nepal APF Inning

In response, APF chased down the winning target of 88 runs in 18.1 overs losing 3 wickets. APF lost the wickets in the form of Jyoti Pandey, Sita Rana Magar, and Indu Barma who contributed 11, 19, and 18 runs in APF’s victory.

Moreover, Roma Thapa (11), and Mamta Chaudhary (21) shared a 33 runs partnership for the unbroken fourth wicket to secure APF’s victory. Alisha Khadiya, Rubina Chhetry, and Nisha Shah of Koshi Province each grabbed a wicket.

The victory earned APF a spot in the final of the championship. Earlier, APF defeated Madhesh Province by 10 wickets in their first match and Sudurpaschim Province by 15 runs in its second. APF reached the final for the third time in a row. Previously, APF clinched the title of both the edition defeating Sudurpaschim province in the finale.

APF will play the last group stage match against Lalitpur Mayors XI on Tuesday whereas Koshi will take on Sudurpaschim on Monday. The winner between Koshi and Sudurpaschim has a high chance of advancing to the final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *