Saturday, May 18

Sukra wins third title of season to become Nepal’s No 1 pro golfer

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Sukra Bahadur Rai won the Surya Nepal Premier Golf Championship for his third title of the season and seventh overall.

Sukra carded three-under 69 in the final round to post the winning total of 19-under 269 at the Gokarna Golf Club on Thursday. He registered a six-stroke victory over pro Niraj Tamang, who faltered to two-over 74 for the 72-hole score of 13-under 275.

With his third title of the season, Sukra received Rs 250,000 and became the new No 1 pro with the total earning of Rs 663,500. Niraj earned Rs 155,000. Another pro Bhuwan Nagarkoti came third with the total score of 12-under 276 after he carded two-under 70 in the final day. Bhuwan, who won two events under the tour, received Rs 110,000 and finished second in Order of Merit with the season’s earning of Rs 580,500.

Wangchen Dhondup won the amateur section title with the total score of 277. He played one-over 73 in the final round and finished fourth overall. Mahendra Phagami was second in the amateur section and fifth overall at 10-under 278.

Top amateur Subash Tamang finished sixth overall with the score of 281 after he carded five-under 67. Tamang won two events under the tour.

Sukra began the day with a one-stroke lead over Niraj and he extended the lead to two strokes after the front nine. Sukra carded one-under 35, while Niraj played even-par before taking the turn. Sukra then opened up a four-shot lead with birdies on the 11th and 12th holes. Niraj faced a bogey on the 15th and Sukra carded a birdie on the final hole to complete a six-shot victory. Sukra carded two-under 34 on the back nine, while Niraj faltered to two-over 38.

Winner of the season-opening Surya Nepal Kathmandu Open, Jayaram Shrestha finished third in Order of Merit with a total earning of Rs 474,500 after he finished 15th among pros in the final event. Niraj Tamang was fourth with Rs 430,166, while Rabi khadka finished fifth with Rs 379,000.

A total of 54 golfers – 43 pros and 11 amateurs – took part in the eighth and final event of the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2021-22, which carried a total prize purse of Rs 1.461 million. Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd Vice-president Marketing Dipra Lahiri, President of Nepal PGA Rabindra Man Shrestha and Nepal Golf Association President Tashi Ghale handed over the prizes to the winners. The Nepal PGA felicitated its member and referee Ramesh Nagarkoti, and staff Ramji Shrestha Rajbahak and Samir Tamang for their contribution in the tour events.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *