Wednesday, February 28

Sudurpaschim Eliminate Bagmati To Move One-Step Closer To PM Women’s Cup Final

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu (HamroKhelkud) – Sudurpaschim Province have eliminated Bagmati Province to move one step closer to the final of the PM Women’s National Championship 2080. Sudurpaschim defeated Bagmati by nine wickets in the eliminator to advance to the second qualifier against Koshi Province tomorrow.

Chasing a target of 100 runs set up by Bagmati, Sudurpaschim got to the total in 14.2 overs at the loss of just one wicket.

Opener Bindu Rawal played an unbeaten innings of 54 off 49 deliveries with seven fours. Samjhana Khadka remained not out at the other end on 21 off 16 deliveries in an innings that had two fours.

Anothe opener Rubi Poddar was the only batter dismissed on 18 runs off 22 deliveries with two fours in her innings. 

Sanskriti Phuyal took the only wicket that fell in the Bagmati innings. 

Earlier, Bagmati, who lost the toss and decided to bat first, were bundled over for 99 runs in 19 overs. Kanchan Shrestha remained the highest run-getter for Bagmati on 36 off 46 with five boundaries. Sony Pakhrin made 14 off 13 while Helisha Gurung and Khusi Dangol both contributed ten runs each. The rest of the batters didn’t even reach double figures.

YManisha Upadhayay remained unbeaten on eight runs while Yashu Pandey made seven runs, skipper Asmina Karmacharya made two, Bipisha Shahi made one while three batters- Yashoda Bist, Salina Silwal and Sanskriti Phuyal went back for a duck.

Karishma Thapa took three wickets for Sudur Paschim while Laxmi Saud and Ritu Kanoujita took two wickets each.

Sudur Paschim will now face Koshi Province in the second qualifier for a place in the final against APF. APF defeated Koshi earlier today in the first qualifier to book their place in the final while Koshi, who finished second on the table, will have a second shot at the final tomorrow.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *