Monday, December 4

Sandeep joins National Team close camp

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Sandeep Lamichhane, the former skipper of the Nepal National Cricket Team has joined the National Team close camp following the revocation of the ban implemented on him.

Sandeep, who is accused of coercion of a minor was suspended by the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) in September last year. The District Court of Kathmandu in November last year ordered to send Sandeep Lamichhane behind the bars until the final verdict of the case.

However, the bench of High Court judges Dhruvaraj Bhattarai and Ramesh Dhakal on January 13, overturned the Kathmandu District Court’s order and directed Sandeep to be released on bail.

Further, the Board Meeting of CAN held on Tuesday at Pokhara lifted the ban imposed on Sandeep Lamichhane and decided to include him in the preliminary squad. The CAN mentioned that they have implemented a ban on Sandeep under disciplinary issues as he left the close camp without permission.

Axing off Sharad Vesawkar, Binod Bhandari, Sagar Dhakal, Siddhant Lohani, Abinash Bohara, Bibek Yadav, Anil Sah, Bikram Sob, Bhuvan Karki, and Ankit Subedi, CAN include Sandeep Lamichhane and Pratish GC in the second phase of the preliminary squad on Thursday.

Nepal is all set to host the tri-series from February 14 to 21 at TU Cricket Ground. Namibia and Scotland will visit Nepal to compete in a series under ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup League 2.

Nepal stands second from the bottom in the competition points table with 18 points from 24 matches. Nepal won 8, drew 1, lost 14, and shared points in 1 match as the match was abrupted by rain.

While Scotland is at the top of the table with 46 points from 32 matches, Namibia stands third with 37 points from 30 matches.

Nepal’s Fixture:
February 14: Nepal VS Namibia
February 17: Nepal VS Scotland
February 18: Nepal VS Namibia
February 21: Nepal VS Scotland

Preliminary Squad (Phase II):

Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh, Gyanendra Malla, Rohit Paudel, Dipendra Singh Airee, Aarif Sheikh, Gulsan Jha, Karan KC, Sompal Kami, Lalit Rajbanshi, Sundeep Jora, Kishor Mahato, Kamal Singh Airee, Arjun Saud, Surya Tamang, Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, Mausam Dhakal, Sandeep Lamichhane, and Pratish Gc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *