Saturday, July 13

Police back-to-back victorious, Gandaki starts with a win

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal Police Club (NPC) recorded a second consecutive victory and Gandaki Province began with a win in an ongoing Prime Minister’s Cup One Day Men’s Cricket Tournament.

Gandaki Province beat Far Western Province by 69 runs to start the PM Cup journey with a win. Gandaki, who won the toss and elected to bat first collected 208 runs in the prescribed 50 overs losing 8 wickets at TU Cricket Ground.

Opener batsman Arjun Kumal added the utmost runs of 63 for Gandaki off 105 deliveries. Sameer Kandel collected 26 runs off 71 deliveries. Bidhan Shrestha and Avishek Basnet both scored the same 25 runs off 34 balls.

Sandeep Chhetri and Sachinraj Adhikari got bowled for 19 and 2 runs off Narayan Joshi and Sher Malla’s delivery. Captain Bipin Khatri got out for 13 runs off 21 balls. Kamal Pariyar and Subash Bhandari remained unbeaten for 13 runs and 0. Narayan and Milan Bohara of Far Western took two wickets each. Sher and Naren Saud both took a single wicket.

Far Western failed to chase the winning target of 209 runs and was swept out for 139 runs in 32.4 overs. Milan Bohara bagged the highest of 51 runs off 64 balls with 3 fours and 1 six.

Raju Rijal (1), Gajendra Bohara (35), Basant Karki (10), Basant Khatri (9), Dipak Tamata (0), Narayan Joshi (0), Sher Malla (3), Hemant Dhami (8), and Naren Saud returned to the pavilion with 0 runs. Kailash Ayer remained unbeaten for 2 runs.

Bipin Khatri of Gandaki took 4 wickets. While Amrit Gurung and Kamal Pariyar sent one man back, Subash Bhandari and Avishek Basnet took 2 wickets each.

NPC records empathic victory over Province 1

Nepal Police records an empathic victory over Province 1 with a top-notch performance of Lalit Rajbanshi. Province 1, who won the toss and elected to bat first at Mulpani Cricket Ground was clean-swept for 102 runs in 35.1 overs.

5 wickets from Lalit Rajbanshi, 2 each from Sagar Dhakal and Dipendra Singh Airee, and a wicket from Rashid Khan stopped Province 1 for a tiny 102 runs.

Province 1’s opener duo Niraj Mukhiya and Ankit Mukhiya added the highest of 29 and 24 runs to the tally. While Bibek Anand Mehta collected 17 runs, the other batsmen couldn’t score in double figures.

Firdosh Ansari and Sarwan Yadav bagged 9 runs each. Minash Thapa and Sonu Ansari scored 4 and 6 runs. Sujan Thapaliya, Siddhant Lohani, and Bishal Acharya failed to earn any runs. Hemant Rai remained unbeaten for 0.

NPC pocketed the match in 14 overs with the loss of 3 wickets collecting 105 runs. Opener Sunil Dhamala got royal duck out as his shot got caught by Manish Thapa off Firdosh’s ball. Kushal Bhurtel collected 42 runs off 28 balls.

Shankar Rana added 29 runs to the tally. Skipper Dipendra Singh Airee and Rashid Khan remained unbeaten for 14 and 16 runs respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *