Wednesday, February 28

Pokhara Edge Out Birgunj To Go Second

Sandesh Sigdel, Kathmandu

In a match filled with first-half goals, Pokhara Thunders defeated Birgunj United FC to climb to second place in the Nepal Super League second edition table. The 2-1 win had goals from Joe Aidoo and Moses Gyabba for Pokhara, while Aikins Baffour scored one for Birgunj. 

Pokhara started the proceedings quickly with Joe Aidoo’s left-footed strike from the edge of the box in just the sixth minute. Ayush Ghalan, showing what was to come for the rest of the match, dribbled past two defenders to toe-poke it to Stephen Annor who had the composure to pass it to Moses Gyabba. Moses’ effort was blocked and the ball fell for Aidoo at the edge of the box.

Birgunj didn’t take much to respond and equalized in the 11th minute. Sushil Lama’s whipping delivery from the right was headed home by Aikins Baffour, bringing the scoreline to 1-1.

Birgunj escaped conceding the second goal after Deep fumbled a cross and Dipenk Raj Singh Thakuri cleared a Moses Gyabba cross with Ayush lurking behind him.

But Pokhara managed to go ahead again in the 44th minute. Stephan Annor was fed on the left flank by Joe Aidoo and delivered a delightful cross to Moses who headed into the post with Deep standing no chance to save.

The second half didn’t prove to be as eventful as the first where three goals were scored. The biggest chance fell for Birgunj substitute Bibek Chaudhary who shot first-time off a flick from William Opoku but Priso stood tall to deny him.

Pokhara substitute Sanjeeb Bista failed to extend the lead after missing a chance on an unguarded net. Aidoo played a through pass to Annor who got past Baffour to square it to Sanjeeb Bista but he couldn’t tap the ball in on an open goal.

Pokhara have climbed to the second position on the table. They have 11 points from six matches, equal to Dhangadhi at the top. Birgunj, on the other hand, have five points from six matches and sit eighth. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *