Tuesday, April 16

Paras Khadka Elected CAN Secretary, Chatur To Lead Again

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu (HamroKhelkud) – Paras Khadka, widely regarded as Nepal National Cricket Team’s most successful captain and one of its greatest players, has been elected in the position of Secretary within the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN).

Khadka, who had retired from active cricket two years ago with the intention of taking on an official role in Nepal’s cricket administration, secured his role by defeating Prashant Bikram Malla with a vote tally of 48-37. A total of 85 votes were cast during the elections.

In addition to this, Chatur Bahadur Chand was unanimously re-elected as the President for his third consecutive term. Other key positions within CAN were also determined without opposition, with Roshan Singh being elected as Vice President and Padam Khadka as Treasurer.

The Secretary’s position had no unanimous agreement, requiring elections in which Khadka emerged victorious. Khadka’s journey within the cricket administration began with his election as a member of the Kathmandu District Cricket Association. Subsequently, he continued his successful trajectory by becoming the President of the Bagmati Province Cricket Association, which ultimately led to his candidacy for CAN elections.

Moreover, Jayanti Devi Bhatta was elected as the woman member unanimously. While one member each is to be elected from seven different provinces, iPradip Majgaiyan and Sridhar KC from Lumbini and Karnali Provinces, respectively have already been unanimously elected. The election process continues with five members from five provinces and five open members yet to be elected.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *