Saturday, May 18

NSJF Released Nominees For People’s Choice Award 2079

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu (HamroKhelkud) – Five athletes, including the National Football Team’s star defender Ananta Tamang and volleyball spiker Niruta Thagunna, have been nominated for the NSJF Pulsar Sports Awards 2079 People’s Choice Award.

The Nepal Sports Journalist Forum organized a program on Wednesday to announce the nominations for the People’s Choice category. The nominees include Ananta Tamang of football, Biplav Lal Shrestha of Karate, Niruta Thagunna of Volleyball, Sikka Suwal Shrestha of Table Tennis, and Rajani Shrestha of Physical Fitness.

Ananta Tamang, a football standout, has consistently achieved success in domestic football under his leadership. He led Church Boys United to the title in the A Division League’s debut season and secured the title for Lalitpur City FC in recently concluded second edition of the Nepal Super League. Ananta was awarded as the best player in both triumphs.

Biplav Lal of Karate earned a silver medal in the World Sitorio Karate Championship in Jakarta, Indonesia, and had two bout wins the 19th Asian Games in Hangzhou, China.

Niruta Thagunna, a bronze winner in the CAVA Women’s Volleyball Challenge Cup, is also the best player of the Keshav Lal Memorial Women’s Volleyball Tournament. Rajani Shrestha, a gold medalist in the weight group above 55 kg at the Asian Body Building Championship in Nepal, has broken stereotypes by successfully representing Nepal on the international stage in bodybuilding.

Sikka Suwal Shrestha, the national champion in table tennis doubles and the winner of Stag Global Champions League, completes the list of nominees. The winner of this category will be determined by Esewa votes, Forum Members’ Vote, Social Media (NSJF Pulsar Sports Awards Official Facebook Page and Pulsar Nepal Official Page), and 27 Sports Head Coaches’ Votes.

The voting breakdown includes 50% for Esewa votes, 25% for social media, 12.5% for head coaches of the 27 national sports associations affiliated with the Nepal Olympic Committee, and 12.5% for forum members.

An agreement with Esewa was signed on Wednesday that ensured all five nominated athletes receive Esewa care packages, including a health package worth one lakh rupees. This marks the fourth consecutive year of collaboration between the forum and Esewa.

Durganath Subedi, Chairman of the Forum, expressed gratitude to Esewa and other sponsors. Nominees for other categories of the Pulsar Sports Awards 2079, which include Best Male Player of the Year, Best Female Player of the Year, Best Coach of the Year, Best Young Player of the Year, Para-Athlete Award, Special Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, and Asian Sports Journalist Award, will be announced soon.

The main sponsor of NSJF Pulsar Sports Awards remains Bajaj Pulsar Motorcycles of Hansraj Hulaschand & Company Pvt Ltd. Winners in five categories will receive Bajaj Pulsar motorcycles and other category winners will be awarded Rs 50,000 each along with gift hampers.

Co-sponsors and collaborators include Esewa, Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd, Subisu, Plaza Group of Hotels, Royal Singi Hotel, Roots Fashion, National Sports Council (Rakhep), and the Nepal Olympic Committee. The award ceremony is scheduled for February 11, following a postponement from the initially planned date of January 26 due to technical reasons, as stated by the forum.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *