Saturday, May 18

Nepal’s 15-man Squad Announced For U-19 World Cup

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu (HamroKhelkud) – The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced the final 15-man squad for the ICC U-19 World Cup set to be held in South Africa later this month.

CAN have made one switch and one addition to the 14-man squad that traveled to the UAE for the ACC U-19 Asia Cup. Pacer Hemanta Dhami missed out due to an injury and Durgesh Gupta finds himself in the squad in his place. Similarly, all-rounder Dipak Bohora has also been added to the squad.

Nepal find themselves in Group D of the World Cup that is kicking off from January 19 up to February 11. Nepal will take on New Zealand on January 21, Pakistan on January 24 and Afghanistan on January 26.

Nepal will take on Scotland and the West Indies on January 13 and 16, respectively, in warm-up matches before the tournament kicks off.

16 teams have been divided into four groups of four teams each. The top three teams in each group will qualify for the Super Sixes. The World Cup, which was initially set to be held in Sri Lanka, has been moved to South Africa after Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), the cricketing body of the country, was suspended by the ICC due to government intervention.

Nepal Squad:

Dev Khanal (captain), Arjun Kumal, Aakash Tripathi, Deepak Prasad Dumre, Durgesh Gupta, Gulshan Jha, Dipesh Prasad Kandel, Bishal Bikram KC, Subash Bhandari, Deepak Bohora, Dipak Bohora, Uttam Rangu Thapa Magar, Bipin Rawal, Tilak Raj Bhandari, Aakash Chand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *