Thursday, June 13

Nepal triumphant over Maldives

By a Staff Reporter

Nepal has begun the SAFF U20 Championship campaign with a stunning victory over Maldives. Nepal defeated Maldives 4-0 in Bhubaneswar, India on Monday.

Nepali players celebrates after the first goal scored by Dipesh Gurung. Pic: SAFF

Dipesh Gurung, Sugam Suwal, Kritish Ratna Chhunju and Mangya Nakarmi scored a piece to snatch three points from the opening match at Kalinga Stadium. Gurung opened an account for Nepal by scoring a stunner from almost 25 yards away from the goal post in the 42nd minute. Skipper Ayush Ghalan’s free kick was punched away by the Maldives goalkeeper and Gurung converted the ball in rebound. 

Likewise, in the 58th minute, Nepal doubled its lead through Suwal, who returned to Nepal from Denmark to participate in the open trial for Nepal U20 team. Similarly, Chhunju increased Nepal’s goal tally to 3 through a penalty in the 62nd minute. Nepal got a penalty after Skipper Ghalan was fouled in the penalty box by the Maldivian defender Hussain Shaavin. Moreover, Managya Nakarmi ensured the team’s victory by scoring the fourth goal in the fourth minute of injury time. He entered the field in the 83rd minute in place of Chhunju.

The Nepali youth team Goalkeeper Ishwor Gurung displayed an incredible performance in the match. He denied numerous goal scoring opportunities for Maldives. Under the leadership of Ghalan, a regular member of senior National Team, Nepali youth team presented a dominant performance in their first outing.

The championship, which was previously held under the name of SAFF U19 and SAFF U18, is now being held under the name of SAFF U20 Championship. Nepal had won the first two editions while India had won the latest edition.

Nepal’s Fixtures:

Nepal VS Sri Lanka: July 27, 2022

Nepal VS India: July 31, 2022

Nepal VS Bangladesh: August 2, 2022

Final: August 5 , 2022

Nepal’s Squad:

Goalkeeper: Ishwor Gurung, Unesh Chaudhary, Jiyarath Seikh

Defenders: Amar Shrestha, Sonit Dahal, Aayush Shrestha, Ajay Chaudhary, Sumit Shrestha, Srijan Dhani, Roshan Thapa, Abhishek Waiba

Midfielders: Dipesh Gurung, Aashish Rai, Sandeep Karki, Janmajay Dhami, Mohit Gurung, Kritish Ratna Chhunju, Sugam Suwal, Managya Nakarmi, Aayush Ghalan

Forward: Rohit Subba, Niranjan Malla, Rohan Khadgi

Head Coach: Meghraj KC

Assistant Coach: Balgopal Sahukhal

Goalkeeping Coach: Ujwal Manandhar

Team Manager: Diwakar Ghale

Team Physiotherapist: Lokendra Kunwar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *