Thursday, June 20

Nepal Telecom lifts Kathmandu Team Championship

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal Telecom beat Silk Group to lift the trophy of Kumari Bank Kathmandu Team Championship Corporate Badminton (Invitational) on Friday.

In the men’s singles category, Ratnajit Tamang of Nepal Telecom defeated Bikash Shrestha of Silk Group 21-18 and 21-13 to give his team a 1-0 lead. In the next match in women’s section, Anumaya Rai of Silk Group saw off Seema Rajbanshi of Nepal Telecom 21-14 and 21-15 to tie the game 1-1.  

In the men’s double event, Surendra Singh Karki and Hari Krishna Sharma of Nepal Telecom defeated Subash  Adhikari and Ramesh Sherpa of Silk Group 21-12 and 21-5 to take an overall 2-1 lead. Nepal Telecom lost the fourth round match of women’s doubles after Seema Rajbanshi retired hurt after suffering a knee injury. As a result, the game was tied 2-2.

In the final match of men’s singles category, Hari Krishna Sharma of Nepal Telecom teamed up with Ratnajit Tamang to oust Ramesh Sherpa and Bikash Shrestha of Silk Group to win the team championship 3-2.

The champion team were awarded medals and gift hampers along with the ‘Tri-Ratna’ Trophy. The trophy named after legend of Nepalese Badminton Tri Ratna Manandhar weighed 15-kilogram and was embedded with four silver shuttle worth Rs 800,000 sponsored by Kumari Bank.

Likewise, seeded players Ratnajit Tamang and Seema Rajbanshi bagged a purse of Rs 75,000 each for their first place finish. Likewise, second-placed seeded players Bikash Shrestha and Anumaya Rai were awarded cash prize of Rs 60,000 each.

The third-placed seeded players including Bishnu Katuwal, Deepak Bohora, Rashila Maharjan and Shova Gauchan received Rs 55,000 each.

Likewise, Nepal Telecom decided to provide 60 GB data for a one year period to Ratnajit Tamang, Bikash Shrestha, Anumaya Rai and Seema Rajbanshi.

General Secretary of Nepal Olympic Committee (NOC) Nilendra Raj Shrestha and Nepal Badminton Association’s President Ramji Bahadur Shrestha awarded the winners of the championship which was organized by Kathmandu District Badminton Association.

Players registered for the championship were given Rs 20,000 as soon as they were registered in the championship organized with a cost of Rs 4.9 million. They were given an additional Rs 2500 for each match.

Kumari Bank, Nepal Rastra Bank, Nepal Telecom, Kantipur Publication, Nepal Oil Corporation, IME Group and Nepal Electricity Authority had participated in the event held from December 22 to 24.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *