Saturday, May 18

Nepal Squads Announced For Canada Series & League-2 Opener With New Faces

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu (HamroKhelkud) – Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) have unveiled two distinct squads under the captaincy of Rohit Paudel for the upcoming one-day series against Canada and the commencement of the ICC Cricket World Cup League-2 next week.

In preparation for League 2, a robust team has been assembled with fresh faces in the series against Canada. A 15-member squad has been announced, with the three-match series against Canada featuring the inclusion of four players poised to make their debut, including three new faces.

Nepal are set to engage in a three-match series against Canada starting February 8. Subsequently, the inaugural triangular series of League-2 is on the horizon, featuring Nepal, Namibia, and the Netherlands from February 15 to 25.

The Canada series squad includes Nepal U-19 captain Dev Khanal, along with pace duo Aakash Chand and Hemant Dhami, who missed the U-19 World Cup. Additionally, left-handed bowler Rijan Dhakal and spinner Surya Tamang from Bagmati Province have also secured spots on the team. Barring Dev, four other players are poised to make their ODI debuts.

Dev and Aakash earned their places due to their impactful performances in the U-19 World Cup. Hemant, sidelined during the World Cup due to injury, made a comeback after rehabbing in Nepal. Rijan and Surya earned their spots following impressive displays in the PM Cup, with Rijan overshadowing his provincial counterpart Pratis GC.

The Canada series will also see the return of Pawan Sarraf and Anil Shah to the team, with Pawan also included in the League-2 squad. All-rounder Dipendra Singh Airee, Karan KC, and Gulshan Jha have been rested for the Canada series. Wicketkeeper Arjun Saud is also absent from the Canada series squad.

For the triangular series, the duo of Surya Tamang and Rijan Dhakal retain their spots. However, Aakash Chand and Hemant Dhami are excluded, with Dev in the reserves. Alongside wicketkeeper Anil, Pratis GC, and Bibek Yadav are also named in the reserves in the League 2 squad.

Canada Series: Rohit Poudel, Aasif Sheikh, Kushal Bhurtel, Dev Khanal, Kushal Malla, Bhim Sarki, Aarif Sheikh, Pawan Sarraf, Sompal Kami, Hemant Dhami, Rijan Dhakal, Surya Tamang, Lalit Rajbanshi, Aakash Chand, Anil Shah

League-2 Triangular Series: Rohit Poudel, Aasif Sheikh, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Aarif Sheikh, Pawan Sarraf, Bhim Sarki, Arjun Saud, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Lalit Rajbanshi, Surya Tamang, Rijan Dhakal

Reserves: Pratis GC, Dev Khanal, Anil Shah, Bibek Yadav

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *