Thursday, May 23

Nepal Squad for SAFF U-16 Championship Finalized

By a staff reporter

All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) have announced the final Nepal U-16 National Team squad that will compete at the SAFF U-16 Championship 2023 in Bhutan. 

The tournament will be held from Bhadra 15 to 24 (September 1-10). Nepal are grouped alongside India and Bangladesh in Group A while the hosts Bhutan, Pakistan and Maldives make up Group B. 

The team will be led by head coach Rabindra Silakar who coached Sankata Club in the later stages of the A Division League 2023 season.

The squad selection process was conducted through a series of nationwide trials, initially spanning districts and provinces before culminating in the final trials held in Kathmandu as well as the ANFA U-16 League.

Final squad:

Goalkeepers: Bishesh Baniya, Pema Nurbu Bhote, Bhakta Bahadur Pariyar

Defenders: Ekraj Bishwakarma, Kishan Thapa, Arbind Kumar Dhami, Bhuban Kami, Prashant Moktan, Nishan Raj Lawot, Kishor Kumar Danwar, Saran SK

Midfielders: Sujal Syangtan, Ram Thami, Pemba Tamang, Ganesh Pulami Magar, Binayak Tharu, Subhash Bam, Laxman Thami, Dilan Limbu

Forwards: Santosh Gongba, Rohit Shrestha, Himesh Majhi, Darshan Adhikari

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *