Thursday, June 13

Nepal Register A Six-Wicket Win Against Hong Kong

Kathmandu (HamroKhelkud) – Nepal have registered a second successive win in the ongoing Triangular Series at the Mulpani Cricket Ground. Nepal defeated Hong Kong by six wickets today to register their second consecutive win.

Chasing a target of just 95 runs in 20 overs, Nepal reached the total in 13.5 overs at the loss of four wickets. Skipper Rohit Paudel remained unbeaten on 25 runs off 20 deliveries with one four and two sixes. His second six came on the last ball of the innings to take his side over the line. Gulshan Jha remained unbeaten at the other end on 14 runs off five deliveries with two sixes in his innings.

Opener Aasif Sheikh scored the highest for Nepal on the day with 42 runs in 34 deliveries with six fours. Aasif’s opening partner Kushal Bhurtel could only score eight runs and was dismissed in the fourth over. Kushal Malla could only add one run to the total while Sundeep Jora scored only three off 11.

Ehsan Khan took three wickets for Hong Kong while Yasim Murtaza took the only other wicket.

Earlier, Hong Kong, who were put into bat after losing the toss, were bundled over for 94 runs in 19.3 overs. Yasim Murtaza was the highest run-getter for Hong Kong with 36 runs scoring two fours and a six off 36 deliveries. Hong Kong, who at one stage were 33-5, were steadied in the middle by Murtaza and Zeeshan Ali who made 17 off 20.

Nine Hong Kong batters went back to the dug-out without reaching the double figures. Nepali pacer Karan KC took four wickets for 15 runs in his four-over spell. Abinash Bohora took two while Sompal Kami, Kushal Balla and Shyam Dhakal (Mausam) took one wicket. Nepal had defeated the UAE by seven wickets in the opening match of the series the day before.

Nepal will take on Hong Kong in their third match of the series on October 21 followed by the UAE on October 23. The final of the series will be played on October 27 at the TU Cricket Ground.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *