Wednesday, February 28

Nepal Police Club Crowned National Men’s Volleyball Champions

By a Staff Reporter

Surkhet (HamroKhelkud) – Nepal Police Club have lifted the title of the 34th National Men’s Volleyball Championship. Police, while ending APF’s unbeaten run, defeated them 3-1 to be crowned the national champions. Police came back from a set down to win three straight sets and win the title.

APF, who had defeated Police 3-1 earlier in the group stages, couldn’t replicate the result. This is Police’s first title in seven finals this year. APF, on the other hand, failed to win their third title this year. APF had won the first Post Bahadur Bogati Memorial Volleyball Championship and Keshav Lal Memorial Open Volleyball Tournament earlier.

APF won a competitive first set 25-22. Police came back into the match with a 25-19 win in the second set. Rabin Chand’s exceptional performance in the third set handed Police a 2-1 lead with a 25-18 victory. The set that once stood at 15-15 was led by Police 18-15 at one stage. After that, Police got seven points, while APF managed to get just three.

APF had taken an 11-10 lead in the fourth set after coming back from a 4-8 position. However, Police came back to win the final set 25-23 and have their grasp on the title.

Police were rewarded with one lakh rupees along with the title. Tribhuwan Army Club defeated Gandaki Province earlier in the day to finish third in the tournament.

The tournament that kicked off on January 5 had ten participating teams that includes teams from seven provinces and three departmental teams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *