Friday, April 19

Nepal Into The Final Of Quadrangular Series Despite Loss

Kathmandu – Nepal have qualified for the final of the Quadrangular series in Malaysia despite a loss today. Nepal finished at the top owing to a superior net run rate despite suffering a six-wicket loss against hosts Malaysia.

Chasing a target of just 85 runs in 18 overs in a rain-affected match, Malaysia lost four wickets, getting to the total in 16.2 overs. Ainna Hashim scored an unbeaten 37 runs in 39 deliveries while Mahirah Ismail scored 21 off 24.

Malaysia lost opener Julia Bin Mohammad Rashid for eight runs and skipper Mas Elysa for just two runs. Mahirah and Hashim steadied the ship for the Malaysian ladies with a partnership of 43 runs and led their side towards the win.

Losing toss and being sent to bat first, Nepal conjured up 83 runs with the loss of seven wickets in the 18 overs but it was not enough to topple Malaysia. After a delay in the start of the match due to rain, the match was reduced to 18 overs per side and gave a target of 85 runs.Skipper Rubina Chhetri scored 23 runs in 26 deliveries with two fours and a six.

Opener Puja Mahato went back to the pavilion early in the fifth ball of the first over for one run. Kajol Shrestha made 18 duns in 21 deliveries with one four. Opener Sita Rana Magar scored nine runs in 13 balls. Indu Barma scored 20 runs in 33 deliveries. Kabita Joshi remained unbeaten with four runs while Kabita Kunwar scored one, Samjhana Khadka scored two runs. Regular opener Bindu Rawal was sent out to bat at number nine and remained unbeaten with one run.

Malaysia’s Ainna Hashim took two wickets giving away just 13 runs in four overs. Noor Samad gave away 20 runs while taking two wickets in four overs while Mahirah Ismail also took two wickets for 23 runs.Nepal finished the round robin stage with four points from three matches with two wins and a loss. Hong Kong also finished on four points and qualified for the final in second place. Malaysia also finished on four points but are out of the tournament due to an inferior ney run rate.

The final of the series will be played on Saturday. Nepal are also scheduled to take on Thailand in a practice match ahead of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifiers that will be held from August 31 to September 9 in Malaysia. Nepal have been grouped alongside the UAE, Qatar, Malaysia, Bhutan and Bahrain in Group A. China, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Myanmar and Thailand make up Group B. The top two teams in each group will contest the semifinals.

The two finalists will qualify for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024. Nepal will take on Malaysia on August 31, Bahrain on September 1, Bhutan on September 3, Qatar on September 4 and the UAE on September 6.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *