Tuesday, April 16

Nepal earns direct spot in World Cup Qualifiers defeating UAE

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal has earned a direct spot in the World Cup Qualifiers defeating UAE by 9 runs through the Duckworth-Lewis method in the ICC World Cup League-2 tri-series at TU Cricket Ground.

Chasing a huge winning target of 311 runs for victory, Nepal lost 6 wickets scoring 269 runs in 44 overs. Due to bad lighting conditions, Nepal won the match through the Duckworth-Lewis method. The umpire stopped the game and dropped the bails. UAE expressed their displeasure while the Nepali players started celebrating their historic win.

Nepal’s Inning

Kushal Bhurtel, Bhim Sharki, Aarif Sheikh, and Gulsan Jha each contributed a half-century innings in Nepal’s victory.

While Aasif, who partnered with Kushal Bhurtel in opening the inning departed for a duck out, Kushal contributed 50 runs off 35 deliveries with 3 fours and 4 sixes.

With Kushal Malla (5), and Rohit Paudel (16) leaving the crease early, Bhim Sharki collected the highest of 67 runs off 76 deliveries with 9 fours. Bhim and Arif shared 83 runs partnership for the fifth wicket. Aarif added 52 runs to the tally off 62 balls.

The game took a dramatic turn when Gulsan stroke three fours and a six in the 42nd over off Mohammad Wasim. Gulsan remained not out for 50 runs off 48 deliveries, while Dipendra Singh Airee too remained unbeaten for 10 off 11 balls.

Junaid Siddique picked 3 wickets, whereas Aayan Afzal Khan and Zahoor Khan took 2 and 1 wicket respectively.

UAE’s Inning

Earlier, UAE who won the toss and opted to bat first scored 310/6 in the allocated 50 overs. This is the highest total made by the opposition team against Nepal in ODI so far.

Middle-order batsman Asif Khan top-scored for UAE accumulating 101 runs off 42 deliveries with 4 fours and 11 sixes remaining unbeaten. Asif completed his century in 41 balls.

While Vritttya Aravind contributed the second-highest of 94 runs off 138 deliveries with 8 fours and 2 sixes, skipper Muhammad Waseem added 63 runs to the tally. Muhammad and Vrittya shared a 79-run partnership for the second wicket.

Aryan Lakra (6), Chundangapoyil Rizwan (7), Aayan Afzal Khan (3), and Rohan Mustafa (20) were the other contributors.

Nepal’s spinner Dinednra Singh Airee claimed 2 wickets, whereas Lalit Rajbanshi, Sompal Kami, and Sandeep Lamichhane picked up a wicket each.

The victory means Nepal has directly qualified for the ODI World Cup qualifiers to be held in Zimbabwe in June and July finishing third in ICC CWC League 2. Nepal finished third with 40 points in 36 matches which dropped Namibia to fourth who bagged 39 points from 36 matches.

A total of 10 teams will be divided into two groups in the qualifiers to be held in Zimbabwe. The top three teams from each group will qualify for the Super Six. After playing against each other in the Super Six, the top two teams will advance to the World Cup.

The top two teams will qualify for the ODI World Cup in India next October-November. A total of 10 teams will compete to be crowned champions of the ICC Cricket World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *