Wednesday, December 6

Nepal beats Papua New Guinea to lift triangular T20I cricket series

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – An all-round performance by Dipendra Singh Airee helped host Nepal lift the triangular T20I series title on Monday. Unbeaten Nepal defeated Papua New Guinea (PNG) by 50 runs in the final to clinch the series which also involved Malaysia.

Chasing a target of 169 runs for victory, PNG were all out in 16.2 overs with 118 runs on board.

Sese Bau hit six sixes and a four off 38 balls and scored the highest 59 runs for the visitors. Apart from Charles Amini who scored 15 runs, no other player from Papua New Guinea was able to make any significant contribution in the run chase.    

Airee and Karan KC took three wickets each while captain Sandeep Lamichhane took two wickets.

Earlier, Nepal were invited to bat first at the TU Cricket Ground and scored 168 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

Dipendra Singh Airee hit five fours off 38 balls to score 54 runs while Karan KC hit 33 runs including a six and five fours off 12 balls to remain unbeaten in the match. Aasif Sheikh scored 29, Kushal Bhurtel 25 and Mohammad Adil Alam contributed 15 runs.    

Semo Comea took three wickets for Papua New Guinea while Chad Super, Kabuwa Morea and Riley Hekure took one wicket each.    

Airee was adjudged the player of the match for his 54 runs innings and 3-wicket haul during the match. He also won the player of the series award for scoring 255 runs and taking seven wickets in five games during the tournament.    

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *