Monday, May 20

MMC take sole lead in A Division League

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Manang Marshyangdi Club (MMC) have gone two points clear atop the Qatar Airways Martyrs Memorial A Division League with the completion of the fifth round matches. MMC registered victory in the title race while other contenders were held in their respective matches to the advantage of MMC.

MMC are in pole position to compete in the AFC Cup qualifiers among the four clubs that have acquired AFC license. The top team among the four will represent Nepal in the AFC Cup qualifiers after completion of the seventh round of league.  Second-placed Machhindra and third-placed Tribhuvan Army Football Club are also in contention as two more rounds are still left.

MMC had taken the initiative to organize a league match for the first time in Pokhara. MMC’s efforts were rewarded as they beat Police 3-1 in the fifth round match held  in Pokhara, which they consider as their bastion. In other matches of the fifth round, Army were held to a 1-1 draw by Satdobato Youth Club while  Machhindra shared the spoils with Sankata.

Out of the seven matches in the fifth round, four ended in win-loss while three were draws. Besides MMC, Jawlakhel Youth Club, Himalayan Sherpa Club and APF Club also registered victories. Jawlakhel defeated Chyasal Youth Club 1-0, Himalayan Sherpa saw off Brigade Boys Club 3-1 while APF beat Friends Club with the same scoreline. Meanwhile, Three Star and NRT played a goalless draw.

A total of 15 goals were scored in seven matches of the fifth round. The first round witnessed 16 goals followed by 7 goals in the second round, 18 in third round and 9 in fourth round.

So far, 65 goals have been scored in 35 matches in the league. Among those matches, 21 ended in win-loss while 14 were draws. Six of them were goalless draws.  Altogether 27 goals were scored in the first half while 38 were scored in the second half.

Altogether 48 players have scored in the league this season including two players scoring own goals. Ajayi Martins of Satdobato has scored four goals so far while Sunil Bal of Machhindra, Niraj Basnet of Sankata, Suman Lama of Police and Ashish Lama of APF have scored three goals each.

Martyrs Memorial A Division League 2078

First Round – 16 goals

1.            Friends Vs Satdobato (0-0

2.            Sherpa Vs Sankata (1-1)

3.            Chyasal Vs Three Star (0-3)

4.            BBC Vs APF (3-2)

5.            Jawlakhel Vs Manang (0-1)

6.            Army Vs Police (1-1)

7.            Machhindra Vs NRT (2-1)

Second Round – 7 goals

8.            Satdobato  vs Three Star (1-0)

9.            Sankata Vs Friends (2-1)

10.          Chyasal Vs APF (1-0)

11.          Sherpa Vs Manang (0-1)

12.          Jawlakhel Vs Police (0-1)

13.          BBC Vs NRT (0-0)

14.          Army Vs Machhindra (0-0)

Third Round – 18 goals

15.          Friends Vs Three Star (1-1)

16.          Satdobato Vs APF (4-1)

17.          Sankata Vs Manang (2-2)

18.          Chyasal Vs NRT (1-1)

19.          BBC Vs Army (0-1)

20.          Sherpa Vs Police (1-1)

21.          Jawlakhel Vs Machhindra (0-2)

Fourth Round – 9 goals

22.          Manang Vs Friends (2-0)

23.          Chyasal Vs Army (0-2)

24.          Satdobato Vs NRT (0-1)

25.          Sherpa Vs Machhindra (0-3)

26.          Three Star Vs APF (0-0)

27.          Sankata Vs Police (1-0)

28.          Jawlakhel Vs BBC (0-0)

Fifth Round – 15 goals

29. Satdobato Vs Army (1-1)

30. Sankata Vs Machhindra (0-0)

31. Chyasal Vs Jawlakhel (0-1)

32. Manang Vs Police (3-1)

33. Three Star Vs NRT (0-0)

34. Sherpa Vs NNC (3-1)

35. Friends Vs APF (1-3)

Total matches – 35

Total goals – 65

Victory/Defeat – 21

Draws – 14

Goalless Draws – 6

Goal scorers – 48

Hat-trick – 1 [Ajayi Martins (Satdobato) vs APF]

Own goal – 2 [Karan Rawat (Satdobato0 vs APF, Simanta Thapa (Jawlakhel) vs Machhindra]

First half goals – 27

Second half goals – 38

Yellow cards 108 [5 officials]

Red Cards – 1 [ Ronnel Anthony Paul (Friends) vs Satdobato (double yellow cards)]

Penalty goals – 2 [Suman Lama (Vs Manang), Prizan Tamang (Vs APF)]

Penalty miss – 1 [Bikash Meraglia (vs Three Star)]

Highest goal scorers

4 Goals – Ajayi Martins

3 Goals – Sunil Bal, Niraj Basnet, Suman Lama, Ashish Lama

Total goal scorers – 48

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *