Saturday, May 18

Madhesh Hand Sudurpaschim Their First Loss Of The Campaign

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu (HamroKhelkud) – Madhesh Province have inflicted the first loss of the PM Cup 2080 for Sudurpaschim Province. Madhesh defeated Sudurpaschim by 80 runs to climb above their opposition today in the table.

Chasing a mammoth target of 320 runs at the TU Cricket Ground, Madhesh were bundled over for 239 runs in 44.5 overs. Naren Bhatta’s stellar ton of 121 runs in 122 deliveries wasn’t enough to get Sudurpaschim over the line to get four defeats in a row. Sudurpaschim failed to get a big partnership in the middle and wickets kept falling at one end. Kiran Thagunna’s 20-run innings was the second-highest in the chase. Pradip Paswan and Rajesh Yadav took three wickets each for Madhesh in the win.

Earlier, a century from Mayan Yadav helped Madhesh get to 319 runs at the loss of nine wickets in 50 overs. Mayan made 115 off 128 deliveries and put together two stands of more than 100 runs in the middle. Pawan Sarraf and Anil Shah chipped in with 70 and 69 runs respectively.

Sher Malla dismissed four Madhesh batters while Bikash Aagri took two wickets.

In Mulpani, Bagmati Province registered a comfortable victory against Karnali Province. Chasing a target of 79 runs, Bagmati got over the line in 13 overs at the loss of three wickets. Ishan Pandey made 40 runs in the chase for Bagmati. Earlier, Rijan Dhakal’s five-wicket haul helped Bagmati restrict Karnali to a low total.

Nepal Police Club defeated Nepal APF Club in a low-scoring match in Siddharthanagar. APF, chasing 146 runs in 49 overs were packed up in 87 runs in 34 overs. Lalit Rajbanshi took five wickets for Police in their win.

Police climb to the top of the table with the win while Bagmati go second and Madhesh go third. Sudurpaschim, who started the day in first place, slip down to fourth place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *