Sunday, May 19

Kathmandu secures comfortable victory over Janakpur

Kathmandu – Kathmandu Knights secured a comfortable victory of 53 runs over Janakpur Royals in an ongoing Nepal T20 League.

Kathmandu Knights’ Inning

The British left-handed batsman Alexander James Blake’s sensational batting guided the franchise representing the capital to victory. Kathmandu Knights bagged 208 runs, the highest in the tournament as of now, in the prescribed 20 overs, losing 6 wickets.

Blake, who joined Virandeep Singh in the crease after the fall of Lokesh Bam’s wicket scored 83 runs off 43 deliveries with 4 fours and 7 sixers.

Blake had an eye for the maiden century of the tournament. However, Sundeep Jora caught his shot off Jitendra Mukhiya’s delivery in the 19.2 over. Kathmandu’s opener Virandeep Singh had to leave the crease at 49 following an LBW.

With Lokesh Bam getting dismissed for 15 runs, Ryan Burl (2), Gyanendra Malla (1), and Sunam Gautam left the crease contributing 9 runs.

Smashing 1 four and 4 sixers off 15 deliveries, Azmatullah Omarzai remained not out for 43 runs. Kamal Singh Airee (1) remained unbeaten as well.

While Janakpur’s bowlers Sompal Kami, Jitendra Mukhiya, Sharafuddin Ashraf, and Mohammad Aadil Alam claimed 1 wicket each, Pawan Sarraf booked 2.

Janakpur Royals’ Inning

An average batting could not help Janakpur to chase the winning target of 209 runs. Janakpur Royals lost its final wicket in the last ball of the inning with 155 runs in the bag.

Samiullah Shinwari, who marked his debut today, earned the utmost 29 runs off 27 deliveries for the losing side.

Pawan Sarraf (24), Sundeep Jora (26), Sharafuddin Ashraf (13), Mohammad Aadil Alam (16), and Jitendra Mukhiya (13), scored in double digits.

While Janakpur’s skipper Trevon Griffith got out for 3, Chadwick Walton scored 9, Rajesh Pulami (7), and Sompal Kami contributed 6 runs to the total. Lalit Rajbanshi remained not out for 0.

Kathmandu’s pacer Azmatullah Omarzai claimed 3 wickets giving away 25 runs bowling 4 overs. Moreover, Basir Ahamad took 2 wickets whereas Kamal Singh Airee, Abinash Bohara, Anil Kharel, and Sunam Gautam booked 1 each in their names.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *