Thursday, February 29

Kathmandu beats Biratnagar in a 9-over match

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Kathmandu Knights beat Biratnagar Super Kings by 34 runs in a 9-over match.

The Dispute

The toss scheduled to take place at 8:30 AM didn’t go on time as the teams refused to take the toss citing “internal issues with the organizers”. Later, it was learned that the Comercial Partner of Nepal T20 League, Seven3sports went contactless. Further, the players were also uncertain about their remuneration as some teams were still unaware of their owners.

As per the initial agreement, the players shall have received 40% of their salary before the tournament kicks off. But the players still have not received a penny midway through the tournament. However, Lumbini All Stars and Pokhara Avengers have paid 50% of remuneration to their players. Hence, rest four franchises are yet to pay any.

Later, the members of the organizing committee, Nepal T20 League governing body director Prashant Malla, tournament director Britant Khanal, and CAN’s cricket manager Binod Das somehow convinced players to play the match, assuring that the players that will receive their payouts by this evening.

After all the chaos, the toss took place at 10:30 and the match began at 10:45 PM. Therefore, the match was reduced to 9 overs.

Kathmandu Knight’s Inning

Winning the toss, Kathmandu decided to bat first and scored 92/5 in 9 overs. Sandeep Rajaili played a not-out inning scoring the highest 32 runs off 22 balls with 2 fours and 2 sixes. Gyanendra Malla and Kamal Singh Airee* contributed 14 runs each.

With Sunam Gautam leaving the crease following a duck out, Alex Blake collected 13 runs off 9 deliveries. Moreover, Openers Lokesh Bam and Virandeep Singh scored 1 and 5 runs respectively.

Biratnagar’s pacer Nandan Yadav took the highest of 3 wickets with 1 maiden over and spent 8 runs in 2 overs. In addition, Hussain Talat and Keon Joseph claimed apiece.

Biratnagar Super Kings’ Inning

In return, Kathmandu Knights defended the winning target of 93 runs. With Kathmandu’s pacer Kamal Singh Airee picking up 3 wickets, spinners Anil Kharel and Sunam Gautam booking 2 wickets, and Basir Ahamad and Abinash Bohara claiming apiece, Biratnagar lost all its batters for 58 runs in 8.5 overs.

While Biratnagar’s Keon Joseph and Surya Tamang returned to the dugout following a golden duck, Raj Nannan, and Rijan Dhakal left the crease with a duck out.

Gauranshu Sharma contributed the highest of 22 runs for the losing side. Furthermore, Bibek Yadav scored 12 runs and Nandan Yadav remained undefeated for 11 runs.

Arjun Saud, who opened the innings got dismissed for 1 run. Likewise, another opener Hussain Talat departed with 8 runs in pocket. Skipper Rohit Paudel faced 4 balls to collect 2 runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *