Tuesday, April 16

Janakpur marches to playoff in style

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Janakpur Royals beat Pokhara Avengers by 6 wickets with 66 balls remaining to march onto the playoff in style.

Invited to bat first at TU Cricket Ground, Pokhara Avengers lost all its wickets in 12 overs with 68 runs on the scoreboard. While Aasif Sheikh (16), Kushal Malla (16), and Siddhat Lohani (17) scored in double figures, the rest failed to collect more than 8.

With Pokhara’s skipper Upul Tharanga leaving the crease for a golden duck, Opener Sumit Maharjan got dismissed for 1. Further, Aarif Sheikh (2), Ameer Hamza (0), Bipin Khatri (8), Zahir Khan (1), and Asitha Fernando contributed 4 runs.

Janakpur’s pacer Sompal Kami picked up the highest of 3 wickets in 2 overs expending 8 runs. In addition, Lalit Rajbanshi and Sharaffudin Ashraf claimed 2 wickets each, whereas Jitendra Mukhiya, Trevon Griffith, and Pawan Sarraf took apiece.

In return, Janakpur chased the winning target of 69 runs scoring 70/4 in 9 overs. Sharaffudin Ashraf contributed the utmost 37 runs for the winning side. Sharafuddin smashed 3 boundaries each off 27 deliveries to collect the total.

With skipper Trevon Griffith contributing second-highest of 17 runs, Dilip Nath returned to the pavilion following a duck out. While Ashan Priyanjan collected 1 run, Rajesh Pulami (1), and Pawan Sarraf (4) remained not out.

Avengers’ spinner Kushal Malla claimed 3 wickets giving away 10 runs in 3 overs. Moreover, Asitha Fernando took 1.

With the victory, Janakpur becomes the second team to qualify for the playoffs. Lumbini All Stars have already secured their spot in the playoffs previously.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *