Tuesday, July 23

Bhurtel’s 5-wicket haul gives Police an emphatic win over Madesh

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – 5-wicket haul by Kushal Bhurtel and 3 half-century innings from Amit Shrestha, Aarif Sheikh, and Dipendra Singh Airee give Nepal Police Club (NPC) an emphatic win of 191 runs over Madesh Province in an ongoing Prime Minister Cup One Day National Cricket Tournament.

Nepal Police Club Inning

Opening to bat, NPC collected 273 runs before packing up at 49.1 overs at TU Cricket Ground on Tuesday. Although the opener batsmen duo Sunil Dhamala (11) and Kushal Bhurtel (5) failed to perform, middle-order batsmen Amit Shrestha (65), Aarif Sheikh (73), Dipendra Singh Airee (51), and Dilip Nath (40) stole the show.

While Yogendra Singh Karki and Lalit Rajbanshi contributed 0 runs, Karan KC and Sagar Dhakal left the crease for 1 run each. Rashid Khan scored 4 runs off 6 deliveries before getting bowled by Rajesh Yadav.

Rajesh Yadav and Rupesh Singh of Madesh Province booked 3 wickets each in their name. Bishal Patel and Harishankar Shah took one wicket each whereas Mohammad Aadil Alam took 2.

Madesh Province Inning

With 274 runs required for victory, Madesh collapsed for 82 runs in 29.3 overs. NPC’s regular opener batsman Kushal Bhurtel, who was experimented as Leg Spinner today picked up the first 5-wicket haul of his playing career. While Karan KC took 3 wickets, Rashid Khan booked 2 to send NPC into the semis undefeated.

Mohammad Aadil Alam earned the utmost 42 runs for Madesh. Rohan BK, Rajesh Yadav, Rupesh Singh, Pradip Paswan, and Bishal Patel grab null. Santosh Karki and Harishankar Shah, who opened the innings contributed 3 and 10 runs. Anil Shah (5), Ratan Raunak (11), and Bibek Yadav returned to the pavilion for 1 run.

Semifinals fixture

In a match played at Mulpani Cricket Ground, Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) beat Karnali Pradesh by 140 runs and finished as Group A runners-up to see off Group B toppers NPC in the first semi on November 10. Similarly, Group B runners-up Madesh Province will meet Group A winners APF in the second semi on November 11. Both semis will be played at TU Cricket Ground. The winners of the semifinals will vie for the title of PM Cup on November 12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *