Thursday, June 13

Bagmati Defeat Army In A Low-Scoring Thriller

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu (HamroKhelkud) – Bagmati Province have registered a three-wicket win over Tribhuwan Army FC in a low-scoring encounter in the PM Men’s Cup 2080. In the match held at the Mulpani Cricket Ground, Bagmati chased down the target of a mere 98 runs in 22.1 overs. Bagmati got to 103 runs at the loss of seven wickets and got over the line.

Pratis GC remained unbeaten on 21 runs off 24 deliveries with one four and one six in the match which was shortened to 43 overs each. Ashok Poudel also got to 21 off 30 with two fours and a six. 

Ishan Pandey made 12 runs and Bipin Acharya also reached double figures. The rest of the batters failed to reach double figures. Sompal Kami took three wickets for Army while Shahab Alam and Jitendra Mukhiya made two wickets each.

Earlier, Army, who won the toss and opted to bat first, were bundled over on 97 runs in 27.1 overs. Skipper Binod Bhandari top-scored on 28 off 40 with four overs. Bhim Sharki made 18 runs while Bibek Yadav remained unbeaten on 11 runs. 

Surya Tamang continued his top form and took five wickets while Pratis GC and Rijan Dhakal picked up two wickets each. Krijan Gurung took the one remaining wicket. 

In the other match held in Siddharthanagar, Lumbini Province suffered a 60-run defeat against Karnali Province. Chasing a target of 185 runs in 45 overs, Lumbini were bowled out on 124 runs in 41.2 overs. 

Krishna Karki was the only batter who got going and made 47 off 77 deliveries with three fours and a six to his name. Opener Mrinal Gurung also made a noteworthy total of 22 off 51 with two fours. 

Dinesh Adhikari took three wickets for Karnali while Anuj Chanara and Dipendra Rawat took two each. Diwan Pun took the other remaining wicket. 

Earlier, Karnali, who lost the toss and was invited to bat first, steadily reached 184 runs for nine wickets in 45 overs. Lower-order batter Dinesh Adhikari steadied the ship after the top order faltered and remained unbeaten on 56 off 59 with six fours and two sixes. Dipendra Rawat got out just before reaching half-century making 47 off 69 with three fours and a six. 

Himanshi Shahi made a contribution of 25 runs while skipper Rabindra Shahi made 11 runs. 

Nirmal Gurung and Avishek Gautam took three scalps each for Karnali while Mohammad Hussain, Krishna Karki and Ajay Chauhan took one wicket each.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *