Sunday, April 14

APF books semifinal spot

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – A century inning from wicketkeeper-batsman Aasif Sheikh helped Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club book its spot in the semi-finals of the ongoing Prime Minister One Day National Cricket Tournament.

APF, who won the toss and decided to bat first at TU Cricket Ground defeated Karnali Province by 44 runs.

Aasif contributed 130 runs to the total of 234. No other APF batsmen were able to play as per the expectation. Before packing up at 47.2 overs, Pradeep Airee (20), Aayushman Bam (3), Lokesh Bam (10), Sundeep Jora (5), Puran BK (4), Sharad Vesawkar (6), Dipak Bohara (10), Bhuvan Karki (23), Kamal Airee (4), and Mousom Dhakal scored 0 runs.

Prakash Jaisi and Dipendra Rawat of Karnali took 3 wickets each. Diwan Pun sent two APF batsmen back to the pavilion and Dinesh Adhikari booked a wicket in his name.

Karnali Province failed to meet the winning target as they were all dismissed for 190 runs in 48.1 overs. Captain Rabindra Shahi lasted till the final wicket and scored 80 runs off 138 deliveries.

Bipin Rawal (1), Arjun Gharti (27), Bipin Shahi (34), Himanshu Shahi (1), Aawash Shah (0), Prakash Jaishi (0), Diwan Pun (8), Dinesh Adhikari (20), and Dipendra Rawat got dismissed for 4 runs. Anuj Chanara remained unbeaten for 7.

Mousom Dhakal sent 4 Karnali men back to the dugout. While Kamal Airee and Bhuvan Karki took 2 wickets, Puran BK and Sharad Vesawkar took 1 each.

With 7 points, including 3 wins and a draw Nepal APF Club has qualified for the semifinals of the PM Cup from Group A. APF won against Tribhuvan Army Club, Far Western Province, Karnali Province, and drew Gandaki Province.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *