Thursday, May 23

AC Milan win Serie A title after 11 years


AC Milan won their 19th Serie A title for the first time in 11 years by cruising to a 3-0 victory at Sassuolo on Sunday.

Olivier Giroud scored twice with Franck Kessie also on target for the visitors.

According to the BBC, the title triumph vindicates Milan’s decision to appoint Stefano Pioli as manager in 2019 – a move that was initially unpopular with Pioli having led city rivals Inter for six months.

Inter finished two points back, a final-day 3-0 victory over Sampdoria ultimately in vain.

Napoli were third after a 3-0 win at Spezia while Juventus ended their disappointing season under Massimiliano Allegri – who won the title with Milan in 2010-11 – by finishing fourth but qualifying for next season’s Champions League.

Milan have suffered more than a decade of disappointment since the title for Allegri in 2011 but Italian Pioli has brought back the glory days.

Former Serie A players such as Clarence Seedorf, Filippo Inzaghi, Sinisa Mihajlovic, Vincenzo Montella and Gennaro Gattuso have all since tried and failed to revive the former European champions, the BBC reported.

Veteran striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic was part of that last Milan side that won Serie A and at the age of 40 he lifted the trophy with the club for a second time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *