Tuesday, February 27

Surya & Rijan Handed ODI Debuts Against Canada

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu (HamroKhelkud) – Bagmati Province duo Surya Tamang and Rijan Dhakal are set to make their One-Day International debuts for the Nepal National Men’s Cricket Team. The duo have been handed their caps ahead of the start of the first ODI against Canada at the TU Cricket Ground.

The duo have been brought into the side after their stellar performance in the recently concluded PM Men’s Cup. The young left-arm off-spinner Surya, was the highest wicket taker in the tournament. He was also awarded the Best Player award for his stellar performance.

Rijan, on the other hand, was the second-highest wicket-taker among pace bowlers behind Sompal Kami. He took 15 wickets in nine matches outshining national team regular and his fellow teammate Pratis GC in the process.

Similarly, Madhesh Province batter Pawan Sarraf also makes it back into the XI. U-19 youngsters Hemant Dhami, Aakash Chand, Dev Khanal along Anil Shah will be the ones sitting out among the 15 men Nepal have picked up for the squad.

Earlier, Nepal skipper Rohit Poudel won the toss and has opted to bat first.

Nepal’s Playing XI:

Rohit Paudel (Captain), Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Bhim Sharki, Aarif Sheikh, Pawan Sarraf, Rijan Dhakal, Surya Tamang, Aasif Sheikh, Lalit Rajbanshi, Sompal Kami

Bench: Hemant Dhami, Aakash Chand, Anil Shah, Dev Khanal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *