Tuesday, April 16

Sheikh shines with bat as Nepal crush Zimbabwe A

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – A spectacular batting by opener Aasif Sheikh helped Nepal register a 8 wicket win over Zimbabwe A in their third T20 practice match on Wednesday.

With the victory, the T20 series ended  in a 1-1 draw as the second match was disrupted by raian.

Nepal met the target of 137 runs for victory in 15.5 overs losing two wickets. Nepal’s opener Aasif Sheikh scored a quickfire 87 runs off 54 balls to help Nepal chase the target. His innings contributed 13 boundaries and a six.

Sheikh and Kushal Bhurtel played an 88-run partnership for the first wicket to set the tone for Nepal’s victory. Bhurtel scored 34 runs off 26 balls. Brendon Mvuta bowled Bhurtel while Bashir Ahmed was run out for 10 runs.

Earlier, Zimbabwe opted to bat first after winning the toss and posted 166 runs in 20 overs losing 7 wickets. Zimbabwe’s Roy Kaia topscored 49 runs off 41 balls.

Sandeep Lamichhane took two wickets for Nepal while Sompal Kami and Bashir Ahmed took a wicket each.

Nepal will now play three ODI matches against Zimbabwe A. The first ODI match will be held on Friday. Nepal has announced a different team for the ODI series.

Nepal’s ODI squad

Sandeep Lamichhane (captain), Aasif Sheikh, Dev Khanal, Dipendra Singh Airee, Rohit Poudel, Aasif Sheikh, Biond Bhandari, Karan KC, Sompal Kami, Kushal Bhurtel, Sagar Dhakal, Bikran Sob, Sushan Bhari and Aadil Ansari.

Nepal Vs Zimbabwe A Fixtures:

May 6: First ODI, 9:30 am

May 7: Second ODI, 9:30 am

May 9: Third ODI, 9:30 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *