Monday, April 22

Rubina Chhetri adjudged best player during PM Cup Women’s T20 C’ship

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – National women’s cricket team skipper Rubina Chhetri Belbase has been adjudged the best player (player-of-the-tournament) during the PM Cup Women’s National T20 Championship held in Dhangadhi. Although defending champions Province 1 lost the final against  APF on Sunday, the players of the losing side made a clean sweep of awards in the individual categories.

Photo Courtesy: Dilli Raj Ojha

Rubina Chhetri had displayed an all-round performance to help her team reach  the final.  Province 1 lost the final against APF by 7 wickets. Rubina had scored 157 runs in five matches and also taken 8 wickets. She had played a 76-run innings against Karnali Province in their first match. In the final, she had scored 34 runs against APF and also took three wickets. Rubina bagged a purse of Rs 25,000 for being declared the best player.

Similarly, Apsari Begum of Province 1 was the top scorer of the tournament with 176 runs including two half centuries in five matches. She was unbeaten in all matches except the final. She bagged a purse of Rs 15,000.

Meanwhile, Alisha Khadia impressed with the ball during the tournament taking 9 wickets in five matches. She gave away 43 runs in 17 overs including 5 maiden overs.

During the final held on Sunday, APF defeated Province 1 by 7 wickets to win the title. Chasing a modest target of 68 runs, APF met the target in 14.2 overs losing three wickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *