Tuesday, April 16

Puja, Khushi, and Rubi Earn Maiden Spots in NationalTeam

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Puja Mahato, Rubi Poudar, and Khushi Dangol have earned their maiden selection in the Nepal National Women’s Cricket Team.

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) enlisted these three players to represent the nation in the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifiers, set to commence later this month.

Puja Mahato’s remarkable journey to the national team is notable as she has earned this coveted spot without participating in a domestic league. Hailing from Mahottari, Puja honed her cricketing skills in India. Recognizing her potential, CAN extended an invitation to her for training, a mere month ago. Her batting prowess left an indelible mark on the selectors and coaches, leading to her inclusion in the team. She adeptly handles both top-order and middle-order batting positions.

Rubi Poddar, hailing from Sudurpaschim Province, brings a versatile aspect to the team as a wicketkeeper. Her proficiency extends across various roles, showcasing her ability to perform effectively anywhere on the batting lineup. Her consistent and impactful performances, spanning from the opening position to the lower order in Sudurpaschim’s domestic cricket, led to her selection, displacing the regular wicketkeeper, Jyoti Pandey.

Another exciting addition is Khushi Dangol, a young leg spinner who has previously represented Nepal in the U19 tournament. Khushi’s journey from Bagmati Province in the domestic cricket circuit to the senior team is a testament to her skill and dedication.

The upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifiers in Malaysia will feature Nepal, alongside hosts Malaysia, Bahrain, Bhutan, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), and Qatar in Group ‘A’. Similarly, Group ‘B’ includes China, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Thailand, and Myanmar. The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals, and the two finalists will earn a spot in the Global Qualifiers. The tournament will take place from August 31 to September 9.

CAN has announced a final squad for the qualifiers on Thursday.

Full Squad:

Rubina Chettri (Captain), Sita Rana Magar, Indu Barma, Bindu Rawal, Kabita Kunwar, Kabita Joshi, Puja Mahato, Samjhana Khadka, Ishwori Bista, Kajol Shrestha (Wicketkeeper), Rubi Poudar (Wicketkeeper), Apsari Begam, Asmina Karmacharya, Khushi Dangol

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *