Tuesday, July 16

Pokhara suffers fourth consecutive defeat, Biratnagar bags first win

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Pokhara Avengers went down to Biratnagar Super Kings to record their fourth consecutive defeat in an ongoing Nepal T20 League. With this, Biratnagar Super Kings picked up their first victory.

Invited to bat first, Pokhara Avengers collected 139 runs losing 7 wickets in the prescribed 19 overs. An over was deducted as the match got delayed by 15 minutes following a super-over in the day’s first match.

Kushal Malla contributed the highest of 37 runs off 18 deliveries with 3 fours and sixers each. However, Sumit Maharjan and Aasif Sheikh, who opened the innings lasted at the crease only for a while. The openers got dismissed for 12 and 10 runs respectively.

Likewise, Upul Tharanga (19), Siddhant Lohani (26), Aarif Sheikh (3), and Abhimanyu Mithun added 1 run to the total. Sharad Vesawakar (9), and Pratish GC (11) remained not out.

Biratnagar’s Hussain Talat and Raj Nannan picked up 2 wickets each. In addition, Nandan Yadav, Andre McCarthy, and Shahab Alam claimed apiece.

Later, Biratnagar overcame the winning target of 140 runs in 17.5 overs. It cost Biratnagar 4 wickets to earn 140 runs.

Hussain Talat, who entered the crease after the fall of the second wicket, smashed four in the 17.5 overs to complete his half-century and won Biratnagar the match. The openers Andre McCarthy (21), and Arjun Saud (25) got caught off Kushal Malla’s delivery in 7.6 and 9.3 overs.

Rohit Paudel returned to the dugout with 5 runs in pocket. Sharad Vesawkar forced Prithu Baskota to leave the crease in 14.2 overs. Bibek Yadav lasted till the end collecting 14 runs off 8 balls.

Pokhara’s spinner duo Kushal Malla and Sharad Vesakar booked 2 wickets each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *