Saturday, April 20

NVA announces preliminary squad for CAVA Women’s Challenge Cup

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – The Nepal Volleyball Association (NVA) has announced the preliminary squad for the CAVA Women’s Volleyball Challenge Cup, which is set to begin in May.

The squad consists of 21 members who have commenced training for the championship after joining the close camp on Sunday. With Salina Buda Magar and Sumitra Regmi of Hongwanji New Diamond Youth Academy, making it to the close camp for the first time, Manisha Chaudhary, Laxmi Chand, and Shanti Tharu, who were part of the squad when Nepal won the title of Asian Central Zone, have been left out.

The NVA has recently appointed Belgian Jan De Brandt as the head coach of the Nepal National Women’s Volleyball Team. However, he will take charge of the team in the first week of March. Jagadish Prasad Bhatt and Bharat Yadav are currently in charge of the team in his absence.

The Central Asian Volleyball Association (CAVA) Women’s Challenge Cup will be hosted by Nepal from May 20 to 30, with ten teams, including Nepal, competing in the tournament. Nepal, India, Bhutan, Maldives, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan from South Asia, as well as Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Turkmenistan from the Asian Zone, are among the participating teams.

Preliminary squad:
Aruna Shahi (Gandaki), Saraswati Chaudhary (APF), Niruta Thagunna (APF), Kabita Bhatta (APF), Puja Chaudhary (APF), Pratibha Mali (NDA), Salina Shrestha (NDA), Pragati Nath (NDA), Rima Kunwar (NDA), Salina Budha Magar (NDA), Sumitra Ghimire (NDA), Kripa Adhikari (TAC), Sunita Khadka (TAC), Safiya Pun (TAC), Saraswati Jaishi (TAC), Sangam Mahato (TAC), Usha Bhandari (NPC), Kamana Bista (NPC), Punam Chand (NPC), Shantikala Tamang (NPC).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *