Wednesday, April 17

Niraj surges to the top after second round

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Niraj Tamang moved to the top of the leaderboard after the second round of the Surya Nepal Premier Golf Championship, the eighth and final event of the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2021-22, at the par-72 Gokarna Golf Club on Tuesday. 

Niraj carded a personal best score of eight-under 64 for the 36-hole total score of 12-under 132. He is two strokes ahead of amateur golfer Wangchen Dhondup and Sukra Bahadur Rai. Overnight leader Wangchen carded three-under 69 and Sukra shot a seven-under 65 in the second round. 

Young amateur Sadbhav Acharya carded his career best six-under 66 to move up to fourth place with the total score of nine-under 135. He is one stroke ahead of Nepal No 1 pro Bhuwan Nagarkoti, who carded a second straight four-under 68. Purna Sharma carded five-under 67 to remain at sixth position with the score of six-under 138, while Bhuwan Kumar Rokka is further one stroke behind after he shot four-under 68. 

Dhana Bahadur Thapa and amateur Aarav D Shah shared the eighth place at four-under 140. Dhana carded six-under 66, while Aarav shot three-under 69. Rame Magar (71) and amateur Mahendra Phagami (72) shared the 10th place at three-under 141.

The cut was applied at six-over 150 with 22 pros (top 21 and tie) and eight amateurs making it to the final two rounds. Surya Prasad Sharma, Rajendra Thapa Magar, Deepak Neupane, Tirtha Poudel, Sanjok Moktan, Sanjay Lama, Rajendra Shrestha Pradhan, Dinesh Prajapati, Ramesh Adhikari and Pradeep Kumar Lama survived the cut. In the amateur section, Tashi Tshiring, Sam Doublard and Vijay Shrestha Einhaus joined the top five golfers for the last two rounds. 

Leader Niraj Tamang carded four-under 32 on both halves on his way to playing a bogey-free round. He carded birdies on the second, third, fifth and sixth holes before taking the turn. Niraj then sank an eagle on the par-4 14th hole and carded birdies on the 12th and 15th holes. 

A total of 54 players, 43 pros and 11 amateurs, are taking part in the tournament organized by Nepal PGA under the sponsorship of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. The flagship event of the Tour carries a cash purse of Rs 1.461 million. The winner will be richer by Rs 250,000, while the runner-up will bag Rs 155,000 and third-placed golfer will take home Rs 110,000.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *