Saturday, May 18

Nepal Police Club adds 5 More Golds

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal Police Club (NPC) added five more gold medals to their tally on the second day of the Second Krishna Bhattarai Memorial Karate Championship at Karate Hall in Satdobato.

Seven events were held on Friday, with NPC taking five golds, while the Nepal APF Club and Tribhuvan Army Club each won one gold.

Sony Rai, Sonam Lama, Biplav Lal Shrestha, Arika Gurung, and Sajan Moktan contributed to NPC’s gold medal haul winning apiece each in their respective weight categories. Man Bahadur Tamang of APF and Misli Shrestha of TAC were the other gold medalists of the day.

The first gold of the day was won by Sajan Moktan, who secured a 6-4 victory in the Men’s 50 KG Kumite. Simon Shrestha of Bagmati Province took second place, while Bishal Rai and Bijaya Rimal won bronze.

In the Women’s 68 KG category, Arika Gurung of NPC won gold after defeating TAC’s Bibhasa Thapa 3-0. Rojita Dhungel and Mahima Rai took home bronze.

The third event saw Biplav Lal Shrestha, the gold medalist of the 13th South Asian Games, win first place in the Men’s 84 KG Kumite after beating APF’s Tenzing Sherpa 8-5. TAC’s Bipinraj Singh Darji and Narayan Gurung of Lumbini won bronze.

Misli Shrestha gave TAC its maiden gold medal of the tournament, as she defeated Garima Malla of the Far Western Province 8-5 in the Women’s 50 KG weight category. Sabina Shrestha and Sonu Shrestha won bronze.

Man Bahadur Tamang of APF won gold in the Men’s 60 KG Kumite, with TAC’s Kritan Maharjan coming in second. Yam Bahadur Samal of Lumbini and Sakshyam Lama of Gandaki took third place.

Sony Rai won gold in the Women’s 61 KG Kumite, after defeating Ramita Mahji of APF 1-0. Sanumaya Thing of TAC and Khusbu Khadka of the Madhesh Province won bronze.

Sonam Lama concluded the day claiming victory in the 55 KG Men’s Kumite after defeating APF’s Subin Khatri 8-3. Ankit Gurung of Gandaki and Ram Basi took home third place.

The second edition of the Krishna Bhattarai Memorial Karate Championship is being held under the organization of Godawari Municipality, with ten teams competing, including seven provinces and three departmental teams. The martial artists will feature in 17 events in total.

The winning team will be awarded NRs. 1 Lakh, a trophy, and medals, while the runners-up will receive NRs. 50 thousand.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *