Sunday, April 21

Nepal in ACC Women’s T20 semis after third straight win

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal registered their third straight win in the ACC Women’s T20 Championship in Malaysia on Monday to secure a semifinal berth. Nepal defeated Bahrain by eight wickets in their match held at the Kinrara Oval Ground. 


Chasing a 15-run target posted by Bahrain in the match reduced to 7 overs due to rainfall, Nepal achieved victory in 3.4 overs losing two wickets.

Sita Rana Magar hit four runs and Kabita Kunwar remained unbeaten on 3. Nepal’s opener Indu Berma was out for a golden duck. Rubina Chhetri couldn’t score any runs in 8 balls. Nepal received eight runs as extras.

Pavithra Shetty and Vilcita Barboza took one wicket each for Bahrain    

Earlier, Bahrain were invited into bat first after losing the toss, and they posted 14 runs in seven overs losing six wickets. Bahrain’s Ishara Suhun made six runs while Capitan Deepika Rasangika and Vice-Captain Tharanga Gajanayake scored two runs each. Nepal’s Kabita Kunwar and Sabnam Rai claimed two wickets each while Ashmina Karmacharya took one.     

Nepal are drawn against Hong Kong, Kuwait, Bhutan and Bahrain in Group B of the championship.  Group A includes the UAE, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar and Singapore.

Nepal lead the group with six points from three matches including three wins followed by Hong Kong, Kuwait, Bhutan and Bahrain. One among Hong Kong and Kuwait will also make it to the semifinals.

Earlier Nepal had defeated Bhutan by 50 runs and then saw off Kuwait by 25 runs in the second match. Nepal will next face Hong Kong on Tuesday (June 21).   

The top two teams from each group will reach the semifinals. The two finalists will get an opportunity to compete in the ACC Asia Cup Women’s T20 Championship.


June 21: Nepal Vs Hong Kong

June 24: Semifinal

June 25: Final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *