Monday, May 20

Nepal beat Zimbabwe A to win ODI series

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal defeated Test-playing nation Zimbabwe A in their third ODI match on Monday to win the series 2-1.

The hosts defeated Zimbabwe by 6 wickets in the third and final match of the ODI series at TU Cricket Ground on Monday. Nepal met the target of 214 runs in 31 overs during the match that was reduced to 33 overs due to rainfall.

Kushal Bhurtel and Dipendra Singh Airee scored half centuries to help Nepal meet the target.

Bhurtel played an explosive innings to set the tone for Nepal’s victory. He scored 84 runs off 61 balls that included 7 boundaries and 4 sixes before he  was sent to the pavilion in the 21st over.Another opener Aasif Sheikh contributed 29 runs off 37 balls. He was out in first ball of the 13 over with 73 runs on board.

Sunil Dhamala was run out for 6 runs in the 18th over. Nepal came under pressure three overs later after Bhurtel and Rohit Poudel were out in successive balls. Rohit was sent to the pavilion for an LBW as he suffered a golden duck.Then onwards,  Dipendra Singh Airee and Binod Bhandari ensured Nepal’s victory. Unbeaten Airee scored 60 runs off 43 balls including 4 boudnaries and 3 sixes while Bhandari made 38 runs off 26 balls.

Earlier, Zimbabwe posted a total of 213 runs after being invited to bat first at the TU Cricket Ground in Kirtipur.

Zimbabwe A were all out for 213 runs in 32.1 overs.

Tadiwanashe Marumani topscored 50 runs for the visitors.

Kishor Maharjan, who made his debut for the national team of Nepal during this match, took five wickets.

Maharjan removed Zimbabwe opener Innocent Kaia in the fifth over with the help of Aasif Sheikh for 12 runs. However, another opener Marumani played an aggressive batting to contribute to the respectable total of the visitors. His innings included 50 runs off 31 balls that included 7 boundaries and two sixes. Marumani was caught by Rohit Poudel during Dipendra Singh Airee’s bowling.

Although wickets fell in regular interval, Zimbabwe’s explosive batting continued.  Kudzai Maunze added 39 runs before Maharjan removed him. Sompal Kami stumped Jonathan Campbell for just 3 runs while Cephas Zhuwao scored 16 runs off 18 balls before he was sent to the pavilion. At one point, Zimbabwe were 143-5 in 23 overs.

Captain Tony Munyonga made a quickfire 24 runs off 12 balls before he was caught by Kushal Bhurtel in Maharjan’s ball. Roy Kaia contributed 36 runs off 48 balls as he was run out by Bashir Ahmad. Tailender Luke Zongwe added 19 runs towards the end as Zimbabwe were all out for 213 runs.

Kishor Maharjan took 5 wickets in his 7-over spell including a maiden, giving away 43 runs. Captain Sandeep Lamichhane was wicketless as he spent 53 runs in 6 overs. Sompal Kami bagged two wickets while Dipendra Singh Airee and Karan KC took a wicket each.

Prior to this, Nepal and Zimbabwe played a 1-1 draw in a three-match T20 series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *