Friday, December 8

Mainali wins Indian Ambassador’s Golf Trophy

By A Staff Reporter

Mahendra Mainali won the title of Indian Ambassador’s Invitational Golf Tournament here at Gokarna Golf Club on Saturday.

Playing with 12 handicap, he scored 41 stableford points to win the prestigious trophy and a Callaway Epic Flash driver.
15 year old, Sadbhav Acharya won the best gross award after scoring 38 gross points. His card included four birdies on seventh, 12th, 13th and 16th holes against a double-bogey on the 15th hole. He won a trophy and Callaway Bi bertha hybrid.

Gokarna Golf Club President Suhrid Ghimire finished nett runner-up on the count back after he tied with Pradeep Kumar Shrestha and Maj Gen Mahesh Bikram Karki. Ghimire scored 22 on the back nine compared to 15 of Shrestha and 14 of Karki. He got trophy and Callaway epic flash 3 wood.

Kashmira Shah scored 37 points to become winner among ladies and bagged a trophy and Callaway Epic flash 3 wood. Rekha Ghimire was runner-up with 33 points . Pradeep Kumar Shrestha bagged the senior winner (age 60 and above) award after scoring 36 points. He got trophy and odyssey putter. Aaiesteena Tandan won the junior winner title scoring 27 points and got trophy and Big Bertha hybrid.

Vijay Shrestha Einhaus got the most birdies, Purna Bahadur Rai won the closest to the pin and Dawa J Sherpa got longest drive award. Maj Gen Mahesh Bikram Karki got the best front nine award with 23 points and Wangchen Dhondup got the best back nine with 18 points as well. Charlie Gurung got the award for maximum pars after scoring 13 pars.

The tournament organised by Embassy of India in Kathandu Nepal was played over two-days, in which total of 82 golfers participated it was played under stableford format with 3/4 handicap.

Indian Ambassador to Nepal, his excellency Vinay Mohan Kwatra, Defense Attache of Indian Embassy Col. Amit Kumar Sharma, Gokarna Golf Club president Suhrid Ghimire, Captain Joseph Nathan, and CEO & MD of Nepal SBI Bank Dipak Kumar De and Executive Director of Agni Group Arjun Prasad Sharma gave away the prizes to the winners of the tournament.

Nepal SBI Bank, Mahindra, ISME Pvt. Ltd., Tata Motors, Dabur and Pernod Ricard were the sponsors of the event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *