Tuesday, December 5

Madhesh Province registers first victory by narrowly defeating hosts

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Madhesh Province claimed their first victory in the Lalitpur Mayor Women’s Championship defeating the hosts Lalitpur Mayor’s XI by one wicket with four balls to spare at TU Cricket Ground on Monday.

Starting with the bat, Lalitpur posted 96/5 in the prescribed 20 overs. Young prospect Sony Pakhrin top-scored for Lalitpur with 34 runs off 43 deliveries, including three fours. Laxmi Chaudhary (23) and Shristi Jaisi (15) were the other batters to contribute in double digits. However, Helisha Gurung (3) and Kanchan Shrestha (5) departed early, and skipper Asmina Karmacharya and Saraswati Pun remained unbeaten on 6 and 1 runs, respectively.

Saraswati Kumari led Madhesh’s bowling attack claiming 9-2 with one maiden over. Additionally, Kabita Gautam, Roji Kadari, and Anuradha Chaudhary also picked up a wicket each.

In response, Madhesh Province chased down the winning target of 97 runs, posting 98/9 in 19.2 overs. Middle-order batter Saraswati Kumari, who earlier led the bowling attack, also performed well with the bat, playing an unbeaten inning of 32 runs off 33 balls, including three fours, contributing significantly to Madhesh’s victory.

Openers Alisha Yadav and Seema Kunwar scored 16 and 15 runs, respectively, while Santoshi Chaudhary and Amiran Nisha were dismissed for a duck out. Other contributions came from Anuradha Chaudhary (7), Sana Praveen (3), Roji Kadari (5), Pratima Sah (5), Kabita Gautam (2), and Chandani Khatun* (0).

Sony Pakrhin and Kritika Marasini took two wickets each for Lalitpur, while Asmina Karmacharya and Manisha Upadhyaya claimed one wicket each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *