Tuesday, April 23

Government provides cash incentives to SAFF runner-up team

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – The government has provided cash incentives to the national football team members of Nepal for finishing second in the SAFF Championship.

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba handed over cash prize of Rs 500,000 to each of the 23 members of the team amid a function organized at the prime minister’s official residence in Baluwatar on Tuesday. Three coaches of the team were given Rs 300,000 each.

Nepal had lost to India 3-0 in the final of the SAFF Championship held in the Maldives in October. It was the first time that Nepal had reached the final of the biggest football event of South Asia. In the last three decades, Nepal had reached the semifinals of the event five times but this was the first appearance in the final. During the felicitation program, Prime Minister Deuba said that the government has given high accord to the sports sector.

Nepal’s Squad

Kiran Chemjong (Captain), Ananta Tamang, Dinesh Rajbanshi, Suman Aryal, Gautam Shrestha, Sujal Shrestha, Tej Tamang, Rohit Chand, Pujan Uparkoti, Suman Lama, Navayug Shrestha, Suraj Thakuri, Nitin Thapa, Bishal Rai, Sunil Bal, Ashish Lama, Santosh Tamang, Ayush Ghalan, Bishal Shrestha, Manish Dangi and Kamal Thapa.

Coaching staff

Abdullah Al Mutairi (Chief Coach), Kiran Shrestha (Coach) and Bikash Malla (Goalkeeping Coach)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *