Sunday, April 21

APF, Sudur Paschim make winning starts to PM Cup Women’s National T20 Championship

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal APF Club and Sudur Paschim Province have made winning starts to the Prime Minister Cup Women’s National T20 Championship underway in Dhangadhi.

APF defeated Province 2 by 48 runs in the first match of Group B while Sudur Paschim beat Gandaki Province by nine wickets on Monday.

In the first match, Province 2 were chasing a target of 99 runs but they lost 9 wickets in the allotted 15 overs with just 50 runs on board. The game was reduced to 15 overs due to bad weather caused by fog.

Melina Rayamajhi of Province 2 topscored 20 runs from 23 balls that included three fours. No other batswoman was able to score in double digits. Sushma Shrestha of APF took two wickets giving away 12 runs in three overs. Sonu Khadka, Rekha Rawal, Karuna Bhandari and Sita Rana Magar took one wicket each.

Earlier, APF were invited to bat first after losing the toss. They scored 98 runs in 15 overs losing eight wickets. APF opener Jyoti Pandey scored 24 runs-a-ball including three boundaries. Indu Berma scored 21 runs off 23 balls. Likewise, Roma Thapa contributed 14 runs and Mamta Chaudhary 11 runs. Bimala Magar of Province 2 took three wickets giving away 14 runs in 3 overs. Likewise, Santoshi Chaudhary, Anuradha Chaudhary and Roji Kadari took a wicket each.

In another match, Gandaki Province opted to bat first after winning the toss and were all out in 18 overs with 31 runs on board. Pemlambu Sherpa scored the maximum six runs for Gandaki. Deepa Jora and Kabita Joshi of Sudur Paschim Province took two wickets each.

In reply, Sudur Paschim met the target of 32 runs in 2.1 overs losing one wicket.

Kabita Joshi scored 9 runs for Sudur Paschim while Shova Rokaya added five runs while Gandaki Province gifted them 19 runs. Manisha Upadhyay took one wicket for Gandaki Province.

Province 1 and Lumbini Province have already entered the semifinals from Group A. Province 1 will face Lumbini Province on Tuesday. The result of the match will decide the group winner. APF will face Sudur Paschim while Gandaki will take on Province 2 on Wednesday.

The semifinals will be held on December 25 and the final is scheduled for December 26.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *