Tuesday, July 16

Golden Gate and Prime win NeBA President Cup

Kathmandu (Hamro Khelkud) – Golden Gate ‘B’ and Prime ‘D’ won the NeBA President Cup 3X3 National Level Basketball tournament for men’s and women’s categories respectively. Golden Gate ‘B’ defeated Golden Gate ‘A’ 21-20 in the men’s final held at the National Sports Council’s Covered Hall in Tripureshwor.

For the winning team, Ashim Shrestha and Rajiv Joshi scored 7 points each, while Bikram Dangol scored 5 points and Anish Shahi scored 2 points. The winning team received a cash prize of 40 thousand Rupees while the Runner-up team received 20 thousand Rupees. In the women’s final, Prime ‘D’ won Prime ‘A’ with a score of 13-11. Lunibha Singh scored 10 points, while Srijana Giri and Yeti Chhetri scored 2 points and 1 point respectively for Prime ‘D’. Prime ‘D’ received a cash prize of 30 thousand Rupees while Prime ‘A’ received 15 thousand Rupees. Rajiv Joshi and Lunibha Singh were chosen as the Most Valuable players.

The tournament, which was organized by the Lalitpur District Basketball Association in cooperation with the Nepal Basketball Association (NeBA), was played in a league-cum-knock out format. The first round matches were played on Saturday and the knockout matches were played on Sunday.

The winners were handed the prizes by the Nepal Olympic Committee (NOC) President Jeevan Ram Shrestha, National Sports Council vice president and Nepal Basketball Association President Lama Tendi Sherpa, Nepal Badminton Association President Ramji Bahadur Shrestha, Nepal Basketball Association Vice President Bhuwan Singh Gurung, General Secretary Narendra Thapa, organizer Lalitpur District Basketball Association’s General Secretary Sharad Bista.

A total of 48 teams in the Men’s category and 12 teams in the Women’s category had taken part in the two-day long tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *